America Reads Day

Three weeks ago I had the honor to read to three Kindergarten classes at Hoover School in Cedar Rapids.  I took Alex (dresses as Penelope of course).

Admittedly I have had my doubts that I could make writing my permanent profession – I am not at the level of great authors like Judy Blume, JK Rowling, and the like.  That experience changed my mind.

After reading to the first class the teacher asked if they had any questions.  One little guy raised his hand.  When I called on him he responded, “I really loved that book.”  Nearly all his classmates immediately raised their hands and then competed on how much more they loved it.

The next two classes followed suit – along with asking if Penelope could talk.  We proved she could – she answered questions of her own.

It was an incredible experience I am so glad I took part in. 🙂

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on November 13, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

