An observation at the coffee shop

What this has to do with my writing I don’t know other than one of my favorite places to write is a coffeeshop – despite the buzz of activity going on around I find it a soothing enviroment where I can concentrate (plus there is no “Mom…Mom…Mom…”).  But I digress…

I went to my favorite coffee shop, Coffeesmiths, to get something to soothe my basketball wounds (did I mention every muscle is on fire?).  Since the store moved, I now frequent the kiosk drivethru on First Avenue next to Taco Bell.  As normal, I drove up to the window, waited my turn, checked my phone, checked into FourSquare and quickly message-chated with my husband.  The barista is the normal guy I see there every afternoon I stop by.  We chatted – mentioned my sorrow about the White Zombie being gone, he assured me they still had it and offered to make me one – I told him I needed something a little stronger and ordered a large chocolate candy cane cooler (Coffeesmith’s version of a Frappicino).  I zoned for a bit then turned to watch. 

As many well know, I have a little bit of a coffee shop addiction (I can hear the laughter now).  I have met a lot of baristas in that time and gotten to know a few – hey, even one of my best friends was once a barista.  No one compared to this guy.  He took so much care preparing the perfect drink – it was a art form.  Watching this guy at work was like watching an artist working on a creation.  I was in awe.  And it tastes wonderful.

I wanted to tip him an extra buck for his work (I try to tip well at Coffeesmiths – it is my thank you to them for giving me my first book reading).  I figured I’d get in trouble if I did.  But I will be back…maybe for that White Zombie next time.

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on November 29, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

