Chapter thirty-two

The laptop took the punishment for Sloan’s transgression.  Abbey mercilessly pounded her fingers on the keyboard.  She sat cross legged on the sofa with the computer nestled on her lap and a sea of scrap papers and napkins surrounding her.  The winter sunlight streaming through the walls of glass bathed her in a pure white light.  With every few strokes she let go an angry huff of breath.

Sloan slipped from the kitchen.  He hovered over her with a mug of coffee in his hands.

“I brought you a drink,” he offered.

Abbey glared at him from the corner of her eye, not moving her head to look at him.  Without a word she started beating her fingers on the keys again.

“Abigail, what is wrong?” Sloan demanded as he sat in his brown armchair.  Abbey glanced at him, momentarily distracted by just how incredible he looked in his tight fitting t-shirt and jeans.  Then she remembered just how mad she was.

“Nothing is wrong,” she growled through clenched teeth.

“It seems like there is something wrong to me,” he commented.

“There is nothing wrong.”

Sloan reached out to hold her hands in his.  “Abigail, talk to me.”

Abbey ripped her hands away from Sloan’s and slammed them down on her thighs.  “That’s the problem.  I am trying to sort all these scraps of paper to get them in order so I can type them out.  And you’re sitting there bothering me wanting to know what’s wrong with me when there’s nothing wrong with me!” she shouted.  “It was your idea to put this stupid book together.  I’m just trying to get my part done.”

 Sloan stared at her in cold silence for several moments.  “Very well.  I will leave you alone then.”

“Thank you!” Abbey breathed exasperated.

Sloan stood and strode to his office.  He stopped at the French doors turning back to watch Abbey work in a quiet rage.  An evil smile spread across his face.

He knew jealousy when he saw it.  And right now Abbey was plagued with it and had since she left last night.  He suppressed a chuckle as he closed the doors to his office.

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on June 9, 2012, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

