Chapter thirty-nine

Abbey sat quietly on the couch.  Sloan was on fire.  His eyes flickered to the page of words tacked to his easel.  Then his hand, grasping one pastel stick after another, brought the words Abbey had written to life.  And every illustration was more incredible than the last – beautiful flowers, vibrant insects and magnificent scenes.  Sloan drew like he was on mission.  He was ready to get this book to Aubrey.

All Abbey wanted was to wrap her arms around his shoulders.  She wanted to bury her face in the curve of his neck and inhale him, breathing in the scent of man and his musky aftershave.

Abbey was still not sure where she and Sloan stood.  They seemed to reach common ground on a relationship together.  The night before in the coffee shop had been pure heaven.  But she didn’t know if they were to the point where he was comfortable with sudden bursts of affection from her.  This was territory Abbey wasn’t used to.  This was a relationship with an adult.

After another hour to watching Sloan in silence, Abbey stood and walked over to him.  She laid her hands on his sculpted shoulders.  “I think I’m going to go,” she announced.

Sloan spun in his chair to face her.  “I’m sorry, Abigail.  I haven’t been much of a host.”

“It’s ok.  I know how hard you are working to finish this.”

“You are too kind.”  Sloan took Abbey’s hands in his.  “I meant to tell you.  We are going to the pub tonight.  It’s Gordon’s birthday and Robert, Bartholomew, Gordon and I are going to celebrate.”

“Oh,” Abbey acknowledged, “that sounds like fun.”

“Would you like to join us?”

Abbey blushed.  “I can’t.  I don’t want to intrude.”

“You wouldn’t be intruding.  I want to you to come.  And Gordon asked for you to come.  He likes you quite a bit.”

Abbey smiled then leaned down to kiss him on the cheek.  “Ok.  I’d love to join you guys tonight.  But I still have to go.”  Abbey crossed the living area of the penthouse and picked up her purse.

Sloan stood and followed her.  “Why must you leave?”

Abbey stopped.  She shot a teasing coy glance over her shoulder.  “I have to go get ready.”  She blew Sloan a farewell kiss before walking out the door.

 

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on June 16, 2012, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

