Chapter forty-five

Abbey woke up before the alarm went off on her phone.  The pale streaks of dawn just started to touch the morning sky.  She sighed deeply.  She didn’t want to get out of bed.

Sloan’s shoulder made an incredible pillow.  Abbey stretched her arm across his broad naked chest as she nuzzled her cheek against his warm flesh.  She could feel his slow steady breath rise and fall beneath her arm.  Abbey really didn’t want to get out of bed.

Abbey looked up at Sloan’s face.  His features were so perfect it was like they were chiseled from marble by Michelangelo.  His thick black hair laid rumpled in contrast with the expensive while cotton pillowcase.

This is the life Abbey wanted.  She didn’t want the book contrast.  She didn’t want the fame and fortune.  She wanted to wake up every morning at this man’s side just like this.

It sucked that their marriage was on paper only.  And it was an arrangement Sloan no longer needed now that he had his investment visa.  It was true that they now had a relationship.  But it wasn’t permanent.  It wasn’t a real marriage.

Abbey gently touched Sloan’s face with her fingertips.

“I wish I could keep you,” she whispered.  Abbey watched Sloan for a moment more before she slipped from beneath the sheets and out of the bed.

Abbey silently crept to the master bath to dress.  She pulled her soft brown hair into a ponytail.  Abbey stared at her image in the large mirror with a sigh.  For a fleeting moment she considered stripping off her uniform and crawling back into bed.  With a sigh she flipped off the light.  Abbey picked up her cell phone from the end table then stopped to blow a kiss to her sleeping husband before descending the staircase.

Abbey dropped her phone into her purse then picked the purse off, hooking the strap over her shoulder.  She turned to the door to leave.  Abbey jumped back startled.

“Are you leaving?” Sloan asked sleepily.  He stood on the staircase in a pair of cotton pajama pants, his strong arms crossed over his bare sculpted chest.

“Yes.  I have to go to work,” Abbey replied, her voice near defensive.

Sloan smiled gently.  “I know.  I would like to throw you over my shoulder, carry you upstairs, undress you and tuck you back into my bed.  However I know how much this job means to you.  I didn’t come down to stop you from leaving,”

In two large strides Sloan crossed the living room to Abbey.  He tilted her chin to him and softly placed a kiss on her lips.

“I came down to kiss you goodbye,” Sloan murmured.  “And wish you a good day at work.”

“Uh-huh,” Abbey smiled dreamily.

“And I will see you at 3 o’clock.”

Abbey looked at him, confused.  “I don’t get off work until three.  I won’t be here until nearly four.”

“I have no meetings this afternoon, Abigail.  I thought I would accompany Gordon when he came to get you.”

Abbey’s beaming smile returned with the thought of an extra hour with Sloan.  “That would be nice.”

“Yes, it would,” Sloan agreed.  He gently guided Abbey to the door, stopping her to kiss her tenderly one more time.  “I will see you later.”

“Bye,” Abbey whispered.

“Bye.”  Sloan held the penthouse door open for Abbey.  He didn’t close it until she disappeared into the elevator.

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on June 24, 2012, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

