Chapter fifty-six

Barker stacked the menus and set them under the counter.  He had to close the diner for a full day to comply with the robbery investigation.  In a strong stroke of luck the police found the thieves near beaten to death in the alley behind the diner.  Abbey’s description positively identified them.

Still, it would take some time for Barker to make up the money he lost.  He was overwhelmingly thankful though.  Abbey may have been hurt but she was still alive.  That was worth far more than the money.

Barker jumped startled as the diner door opened.  It would take some time for his nerves to settle.  Barker nodded in greeting as Sloan stepped inside.

“How is Abbey?’ Barker pressed concerned.

“She is better,” Sloan answered.  “She rested yesterday.  I sent her to the spa today.”

Barker breathed a sigh of relief.  “That’s good to hear.  So what can I do for you?”

Sloan glanced around the diner.  “What would it take for you to close this place?”

Barker chuckled as he picked up a rag and started wiping the counter.  “Not gonna happen.  Why do you want to know?”

“Despite my best efforts I cannot convince Abigail to quit.  I will not let her come back.  I can only come up with one solution.”  Sloan paused then smiled.  “Forgive me.  I didn’t mean to offend.  I didn’t realize how much this place meant to you.”

“It doesn’t mean as much as you think,” Barker assured.  “I would love to take my wife and sons and move closer to her family.  They live up state.  But I don’t have that kind of money and no one would want to buy this place.  Or not pay me enough to start a place there.”

Sloan locked eyes with Barker.  “I will give you five million.”

Barker gaped at him speechless.  After several moments of disbelief he found his tongue.  “This place isn’t worth five million dollars.  It’s not even close.”

“Abigail’s safety is worth far more than that,” Sloan countered.  “It’s worth every penny I have.”

Barker stared at Sloan for several minutes in silence.  He slowly looked around the diner.  Barker’s gaze returned to Sloan as he extended his hand.

“Deal.  The place is yours,” Barker agreed.

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on July 8, 2012, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

