Chapter fifty-seven

Sloan poured over the final papers for the building in San Francisco as Nine Inch Nails pounded through the speakers of his computer.  Final payments needed to be made, money needed to be released.  Sloan wanted to make sure everything was perfect before he put ink to paper.

Sloan looked up as he heard the penthouse door slam shut harder than normal.  By the force he was surprised the sound of shattering glass didn’t follow.  Abbey appeared at the door of his office fuming.  Sloan had never seen her that angry.

“What the hell did you do?” Abbey shouted.

“You’ll have to be more specific, Abigail,” Sloan answered calmly.

“Barker is closing the diner!  I’m out of a job!  And he told me you bought him out!”

“I did buy him out.”

“Why?” Abbey screeched.

Sloan stood up from his desk and walked around the mammoth piece of furniture until he faced her.  “You wouldn’t listen to reason, Abigail.  It was dangerous for you to work there.  I would think that bump on your head would prove it.”

“Who are you do decide what is good for me and what isn’t?” Abbey demanded.

“I’m your husband.”

The office fell silent. Abbey searched Sloan’s face.  It turned to ice.

“Our marriage is real to me, Abigail,” Sloan stated softly.

Abbey could see the hurt in Sloan’s eyes.  She had never seen someone hurt that much.  “Sloan…”

Abbey’s words were cut off by the chirp of Sloan’s cell phone.  He reached into his pocket and answered the call without taking his eyes off her.  “Sloan,” he barked.

As the voice on the other side of the line spoke Sloan’s face softened.  He brushed past Abbey roughly to take the call.  She slowly followed him, watching as he leaned against the patio wall as he spoke.

“Yes, Maggie.  What’s going on?” Sloan listened quietly.  He covered his face with his hand.  “Shit, Maggie, shit…You know I can’t come home, Maggie.  I want to but I can’t…I know you understand…Keep me up to date, alright?  Alright…I love you, Maggie…Bye.”

Sloan tapped his phone to end the call.  He closed his eyes for a long time.  He stiffened as he stood.  He turned to find Abbey watching him.  He glared at her furiously as he stormed from the penthouse slamming the door behind him.

This time the glass in the door shattered.

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on July 9, 2012, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

