Shine On Award

shine-on-award

Thanks to Heidi for the Shine On Award!

So here is a little about writer me – in the same style as Heidi!======================================================================================

===============================================================================

When did you publish your first book?

May 8th, 2011.  Yep – my first published book was actually a children’s book.  I wrote Peculiar in 1998(ish) when both the boys were small.  I tried to get it published.  Brian researched and researched and racked his brain trying to figure out how to get Peculiar published.  I told him to stop – that it was never going to happen.  Fast forward to 2011…Jake was talking to a friend at high school about Peculiar.  She told him that she was published on a website called CreateSpace.  I did the research, tried (and succeeded!) at drawing the illustrations and boom – I was a self-published author! 

When did I begin to write?

Since I was able to construct a story – so since I was very little.  I’ve loved reading since I was 3 and started making up stories of my own.  As soon as I could figure out putting pencil to paper I was writing.

How many books have you published?

Six in total – three children’s books and three novels.   The Peculiar Princess and The Finicky Fairy were published in 2011.  The Sorceress of Savon, The Woodcutter King of Muladin, Black Irish and My Sunday School Teacher Tells Me were all published in 2012.  All six as of now are self-published.  In May Black Irish will be published through Secret Cravings Publishing.

What is the greatest passage you think you’ve ever written

My absolutely favorite passage of all my books (so far) is from The Sorceress of Savon.   OK, this is a little more than a passage

Cassandra firmly capped the bottle of herbs with a cork and slipped the container in her bag.  She marked her book, stacking one on top of the other then glancing out the window.  She watched as Matthew gently kissed Stephana before helping her into her carriage.  Cassandra sighed, pulling herself away from the window to gather more herbs.  She picked up her two books and the bag of bottles.  She hobbled to the door and struggled to open it with her one free hand.

She jumped back, started, as she discovered Matthew standing in the doorway.  He clung to the doorframe as he stared at her.

“How may I serve, my lord?” she greeted as she awkwardly bowed to him.

“Where are you going?” he asked, barely audible.

“Home.  I have much to do before I return in the morning and you leave for battle.”  

Matthew paused.  “I did not propose to Stephana.”

Cassandra set the books on a table near the door.  “That was unwise, my lord.”

He stared at her as he dug his fingernails into the wood of the doorframe.  “Cassa, do not leave me like this.”

She swallowed as she heard the urgency in his voice.  “Like what, my lord?”

“Like this – the formal address, the subservient nature.  This.”  He stood up straight, taking a step to grasp her arms in his hands.

“Tell me her name,” he demanded.

“There is no one.”

“Tell me her name,” he begged.  “Tell me and I will give her my heart and make her my bride.  I swear this.”

Cassandra looked at him, tears filling her eyes.  “What if she belongs to another man?”  She looked away as the words she spoke crushed him.  Matthew closed his eyes fighting to defeat the truth — the truth he already knew.

She pulled away from him.  “I told you there is no one.”

He grasped her hand, pressing it to his heart.  “No, my lady, I will win her.  I will fight and I will not stop until she is cradled in my arms.  This I promise you.  Do you hear me?  This I promise you.”

Her tears burst their floodgates as she slipped her fingers from his.  “I must go,” she stumbled.  “I have much to do. I must go.”

She scooped up her books then swept by him and ran down the stairs.  She cringed as she heard him call her name, his voice betraying his pain.

How many stories have you written?

A LOT.  I have no idea.  I have notebooks all over the house full of my stories.  Kind of drives Brian a little nuts.

Who’s the biggest supporter of your writing?

I have a lot of supporters.  Brian has been by my side giving me all the support he can.  I couldn’t have done it without him.  He’s been my knight in shining armor.  My parents have always been in my corner.  They cheer me on, They encourage me.  I have friends who have read anything I’ve put in front of them for years.  So to anyone who I forced to read what I wrote – thank you!

SOS Book CoverWho designs your covers?

I do.  Just a little .pdf filedesign, some photography.  It’s fun!

Where do you want to go with your writing?

Had you asked me three months ago I would have said “to be published by a publishing house, to no longer be self-published”.  That wish is in the rear-view mirror now.  So next I would like to get the children’s books published too.  Oh, and be on the New York Times bestsellers list.

What’s your favorite story?

Black Irish.  I love Black Irish.  Sloan is my favorite character.

What’s your advice to other writers?

Never stop.  The road isn’t easy but then anything worth fighting for shouldn’t be easy.  That makes the reward all the more worthwhile.  To quote a wise man – “Do not let anything stop you from reaching your dreams. Visualize what you want to achieve. Set goals. Stop making excuses. Motivate yourself to accomplish anything you can imagine.  Now get out there and do it.”  (Triple H)

My Nominees….

Allaboutlemon

The Jenny Mac Book Blog

Megan

Chris Martin

Bottledworder

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on January 15, 2013, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

