Tuesday Tales – Package

Badge for TT - very small

I am really excited – I have joined a group of incredible writers called Tuesday Tales. We post stories based on a key word or picture. Click on the link below to read more wonderful stories!

Miranda silently paced the ghostly white marble floor, her crimson silk gown brushing against the silver veined stone. She sent all the servants away wishing to be alone for the day.
Miranda stopped to stare out the window. Thatcher should have sent word by now. The king’s army would have reached the border of the kingdom. There had already been battles. Miranda shuttered. Thatcher just could not be dead.
Thatcher was a valiant knight in the king’s army. He pledged his loyalty to the kingdom. He gave his heart and soul to Miranda. He had since they were children in the village. Had Count Brunon not unearthed Miranda’s past, not revealed her royal bloodline as a lady of the king’s court it would have been very possible the man who raised Miranda as his own would have given her hand to Thatcher in marriage. Brunon’s motives were crystal. With Miranda as his wife Brunon’s path to the crown could not be stopped.
In truth, the only obstacle standing between Brunon and the throne was Thatcher.
Miranda bit her lower lip as she remembered the last kiss she and Thatcher shared. His strong arms holding her close, his lips warm and wet pressed against hers. Miranda trembled at the memory.
“My lady?”
Miranda turned at the soft tiny voice. Behind her a small boy knelt, his little dirty blond head bowed in reverence. By the caked dust on his clothes Miranda could tell he traveled a long distance.
“Yes?” she inquired.
The boy did not speak. He rose to his feet then pulled something from inside his shirt. He held it out to Miranda.
Miranda gently took the burlap wrapped package tied closed with a piece of twine. With another quick bow the boy scampered from the chamber.
Miranda quickly tugged the strings free and let them fall to the marble floor. She unfolded the burlap. Inside was nestled a stone just like the ones she and Thatcher had fished from the streams near their village. The sunlight through the window shimmered against the waves of coral embedded in the stone. A hole had been chiseled through the stone and a leather cord had been threaded through it. Beneath the stone necklace laid a piece of parchment. Miranda smoothed it to read the message.
“My dearest Miranda, please forgive the delay of this gift. We encountered battle early. Despite our victory the fight was difficult. Black magic is certainly working against us. I have spoken to his majesty the king and he has found favor with me. As soon as I return I will make you my bride. This I swear. With all my love, my heart, my soul. Thatcher.”
Miranda clenched the parchment in her hand and pressed it to her lips kissing it tenderly. She looped the cord around her fingers and slipped the necklace over her head. The small cool stone rested in the cleft of her breasts. With a sigh Miranda gazed out the window.
Miranda knew deep in her heart Thatcher would soon be home in her arms. Her thoughts would only be of him until then.

Now – read more stories from extremely talented authors!   http://tuesdaytales1.blogspot.com/2013/01/tuesday-tales-12-writers-writing-to.html

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on January 19, 2013, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. What a lovely passage with fine attention to detail! Well done.

  2. Lovely. Thatcher sounds like a very romantic fellow. That’s the sort of romance hero I like to read about.

  3. Love reading a medieval romance since I grew up listening to the historical aspect

    • Me too. One of my favorite classes in college involved reading the Canterbury Tales. The only thing that would have made it better is if we didn’t have to read it in the original text! But I loved the characters and I loved the commoners much more than the royalty.

  4. I enjoyed reading this. I’m wondering what will happen between Thatcher and Brunon since they both want Miranda? Can’t wait. Thanks.

  5. Oh, same here. I wonder who will be the one to have Miranda as his wife. I hope Thatcher, he sounds very romantic and is obviously the one Miranda has chosen.
    Welcome to TT !!!

  6. I hope Thatcher’s wish will come true. What a lovely story is unfolding here! I love medieval romance. You have set the scene well, I look forward to more of this tale.

  7. I could imagine the scene as plainly as I’d been in the room with her. Well done.

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tales – Library | Inside This Writer's Mind

Leave a Reply

