Tuesday Tales – Light

Badge for TT - very small

It’s time for another Tuesday Tales!  This week the word prompt is “light”.  I have written another excerpt with Thatcher and Miranda.  

Miranda swept silently down the dirt path beneath the lush fragrant canopy of the towering pine trees.  The light of the full moon above cast everything in the forest in an unearthly pale glow.

Miranda’s heart raced in anticipation.  Although she had seen Thatcher several times in the past few days, the thought of his eyes gazing on her as Miranda and not as Ewen made her tremble in excitement.

A soft laugh escaped Miranda’s throat.  Count Brunon was disgusted that his betrothed seemed to have such a weak stomach.  Miranda did not have to fake it.  Brunon craved meats and delicacies that made Miranda cringe.  However, Brunon happily avoided his sick beloved in case her malady happened to be contagious.  It made it easy for Ewen to appear and volunteer to gather firewood.

Miranda stopped short as the path reached the creek.  Her breath caught in her throat as her eyes found Thatcher.  He stood, his tall chiseled, muscular frame draped in a linen shirt and chocolate brown trousers.  His sapphire blue eyes watched the moonlight glimmer off the water.  He ran a strong, powerful hand through his short black hair.  Miranda sighed hopelessly in love.

Thatcher’s head spun at Miranda’s whisper soft sigh.  In just a few long strides Miranda was caught in Thatcher’s strong arms, his sweet lips prying hers apart in a soul-wrenching kiss.

“Miranda,” Thatcher breathed.

Miranda caressed Thatcher’s cheek, her fingers grazing the stumble there.  “I cannot stay long Thatcher.”

“I know, my love.  Our forced separation will be brief.  I will free you from Brunon.”

Miranda smiled gently.  “I know.”

The emotion in Thatcher’s eyes became intense.  “I will not let him wed you.  I will die before that will happen.”

“I know, my love,” Miranda assured him.

Thatcher chuckled.  “I owe Ewen a debt of gratitude for bringing you to me.  I wasn’t sure he would.”

“He told me you threatened his life if I fell into harm.  He should not have.”

“I am surprised he didn’t join you.”

Miranda scrambled for an answer.  “He is keeping watch at the edge of the forest.  He wanted to give us privacy.”

“He is a good man.  There is just something about him.”  Thatcher gazed at Miranda.  “He had your beautiful eyes.  Are you related to him?”

“Perhaps.”  Miranda pulled Thatcher’s face to her.  She bravely parted his lips with hers kissing him deeply, possessively.  The mystery of Ewen fled Thatcher’s mind as he held Miranda close immersed in the warmth of her kiss, her touch, her soft skin.  He would certainly make the most of what little time they could share.

Thanks for stopping by!!  Please stop by and indulge yourself on some more terrific romantic short stories written by incredible authors!  http://tuesdaytales1.blogspot.com/2013/01/tuesday-tales-14-writers-writing-to.html

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on January 26, 2013, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Oooh, posing as Ewen. I wonder what Thatcher will say when he learns the truth!!

  2. Nicely done! I have to wonder what Thatcher will say about all this.

  3. I need a Thatcher to kiss me. I always get caught up in good kissing scenes. Very good.

  4. Reblogged this on Inside This Writer's Mind and commented:

    It’s Tuesday!!

  5. Another wonderful scene.

  6. ‘He had your beautiful eyes’ ? … Look forward to reading more. Well done.

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tales – Wave | Inside This Writer's Mind

Leave a Reply

