Tuesday Tales – Picture Prompt: Red Gift

First of all, I so apologize.  I left last week as a cliffhanger and this week’s picture prompt just didn’t want to work with that.  So this week’s Tuesday Tale is from another project I am working on – one that is near to my heart and I hope to finish soon.

red gift

Rico limped on his cane across the sterile hospital room.  His smile widened as he placed the small red box in Max’s hand.

“I came to return this to you,” Rico informed Max as he winked.  “Maybe you should show Zoey.  I think she’d like to see it.”

“Rico,” Max warned.  “Now is not the time.”

“I would like to see it.”

Max turned, his warm brown eyes meeting Zoey’s.  Her blue eyes glowed hopefully against her pale skin.

Max’s heart clenched in his chest.  He couldn’t put this pressure on Zoey, not while she was lying in this hospital.  The stress this kind of step could cause would really do Zoey harm.  It would certainly set off her CVS*.

“Zoey, I promise.  I will show you later.  Not here.”

Zoey’s face fell.  “Why not here?”

“Zoey, sweetheart, please.”

“Max, just show me.”

“You need to show her, Max,” Rico chimed in.

Max shot a glare at Rico.  He slowly exhaled as he approached Zoey’s hospital bed.  He gently opened the red wrapped box and turned it towards Zoey.  Inside, nestled in a seat of velvet, was the most beautiful diamond Zoey had ever seen.

“Max, it’s beautiful!” Zoey glowed.

“I’m glad you like it.”

“Who is it for?”

Max paused.  “For you, Zoey.”

“Me?”

“I wanted to take you to dinner then to the lake.”

“To do what?”  Butterflies swarmed in Zoey’s stomach.  If the IV stuck in the back of her hand hadn’t been pumping anti-nausea drugs through her veins, Zoey knew she would be sick to her stomach right now.

Max slowly dropped his knee to the tile floor as he held the ring out to Zoey.  “Marry me, Zoey.  I love you with all I am.  I love you just the way you are.  Be my wife.”

For those of you wondering what CVS is, this is a link to the Cyclic Vomiting Syndrome Website.

And for more incredible romantic short stories – Tuesday Tales

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on February 11, 2013, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Oh, i have a friend whose daughter has CVS. It’s an ugly thing…poor Zoey!!

    But on the other hand…a ring! Wonderful 😀 Will she say yes? She’d better! 🙂

  2. This is so sweet. Gotta love a man who proposes in a hospital room! Nicely done.

  3. I’d never heard of CVS until now, so looked it up. What a nasty situation. Love your story and so much hopes she says yes.

  4. First time I’ve ever heard of CVS. Sounds horrible! I’m so glad she’s found love and acceptance.

  5. I’m not a Word Press fan…aargh! I left a comment previously, but I think Word Press ate it for dinner. Or then again, maybe it will show up after I leave. My comment was that I’d never heard of CVS before. I’m glad Zoey has found love and acceptance.

  6. Nice excerpt! I love proposal stories 🙂

  7. Great scene and I’m glad he asked her.
    Another wedding planning in the making

  8. I never heard of CVS. Thanks for sharing. I went to the website to read up on it. Thanks.
    Now back to the story. I love how he proposed to Zoey. Nicely done.

  9. That was such a wonderful scene! Thanks for sharing.

  10. Nice piece, I had no Idea about this disease. What a terrible way to have to live.

    • Fortunately for most the medications take the worst away. And in the case of my family we have some interesting ways to lessen Ali’s symptoms. We make it work but I would love to see a cure.

Leave a Reply

