Secret Cravings Just Desserts Blog Hop!

just desserts blog hop

Welcome to my Secret Cravings Just Desserts Blog Hop page!  This is my first really big thing I have done with Secret Cravings.  My first book with SCP, Black Irish, will be released this May and my second book, Sorceress of Savon, will be released in June.

I am giving one lucky visitor of my blog a free $5.00 gift card to Secret Cravings Publishing!  To enter please leave a comment with your e-mail.  I will draw a winner at the end of the Blog Hop on March 10th!

As ZZ Top has put it so well – Every Girl’s Crazy For A Sharp Dressed Man!  And this weekend that is my theme – the sharp dressed man!  As far sharp dressed men go let me introduce you to one near and dear to my heart.  He is the hero in my book Black Irish, Sloan O’Riley…

black armani suit

A large conference table stretched the full length of the room with several executives in their own power suits seated on either side.  Aubrey motioned to an empty seat near the end of the table as she followed Abbey inside.  Abbey sat timidly in the overstuffed desk chair as Aubrey took her seat at the end of the table.

“Are we ready to start?” one of the other executives, a slightly balding man also in his fifties, suggested.  Abbey prayed silently he was not her illustrator.

Aubrey sighed.  “We might as well.  God knows where Sloan is.  He is the best illustrator I know and a phenomenal artist but that man has no concept of time.”

A woman with frosted gray hair, probably also in her early fifties, sighed dreamily.  “A man like that doesn’t need to worry about time.”

Aubrey glared at her coldly.  “When he’s on my, and Panda Publication’s, dime he does.”

The door opened silently.  “You wouldn’t be talking about me, would you Aubrey?”

Abbey turned as the Irish brogue lilted on her ears like a beautiful melody.  The vision that met her hazel eyes put that melody to shame.

He stood, in his late thirties and well over six and a half feet tall, filling the doorway to the conference room.  His wavy ebony black hair framed a proud angular face.  Stubble brushed his cheekbone, chin and upper lip.  His ice blue eyes glimmered mischievously at the occupants of the room.  An Armani suit worth thousands of dollars draped elegantly against a sculpted muscular body that made Abercrombie and Fitch models look weak and puny.

He took Abbey’s breath away.

“About time,” Aubrey snarled.

The stunning man strode to Aubrey’s side and placed a peck on her cheek.  “You know I’m sorry I’m running late, Aubrey.  My driver got stuck in traffic on Fifth Avenue.”

Abbey watched as Aubrey’s face softened.  The man’s eyes lifted and met Abbey’s.  Her breath caught in her throat as his smile deepened.  He took her hand and pressed his lips to it.

“Good morning.  My name is Sloan.  And you are?”

“Abbey,” she croaked.  Her face reddened in embarrassment.

“You are the author of this fabulous book.”

“And you are?”

Aubrey motioned for Sloan to sit.  “Sloan is your illustrator.”

Abbey’s eyes grew wide.  This insanely gorgeous man was her illustrator?  Her ever-faithful memory flew to Michael even while her ever-traitorous body was ready to cozy up to Sloan. 

Aubrey opened the file before her and began to read the obligations of the contract.  Abbey couldn’t break away from Sloan’s gaze as Aubrey’s words drifted away like background noise.  Michael’s image pounded ruthlessly in her mind.  Abbey stood from the table as several pairs of astonished eyes stared at her.

“I’m sorry.  I can’t do this.”  Abbey flew from the room and down the corridor.

SAMSUNG

And now for what all sharp dressed men wear – tuxedos.  Or in this case – Tuxedo Brownies!  This is my adaptation of a Better Homes and Gardens recipe I found and tweaked.  I hope you enjoy them but warning – they are very rich!

Tuxedo Brownies

1 cup butter or margarine

4 ounces unsweetened chocolate

4 eggs

2 cups sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 1/2 cups flour

1 bag of white chocolate chips (Nestle or Hershey work best)

Preheat the oven to 350*.  Lightly grease a 9×13 pan.  In a medium saucepan melt the butter and chocolate on low heat together until both are melted.  Remove from heat and stir in eggs, sugar and vanilla.  Beat until combined then stir in flour.  Stir in white chocolate chips.

Spread batter into the 9×13 pan.  Bake in the 350* oven for 40-45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when you insert it.  Cool then cut into bars and serve!

And a reminder to leave a comment for your chance to win a Secret Cravings $5.00 gift certificate!

And don’t forget to “keep hopping” to the other incredible Secret Cravings author’s blogs for more delicious desserts!

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on March 8, 2013, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Tracey Steinbach

    Yum! To the recipe and the hero!

    steinbachtracey@yahoo.com

  2. I don’t know if ‘every’ girl is crazy about a sharp dressed man…but I sure am. Yum.

  3. The word ‘Tuxedo’ makes me think of black, so I would’ve assumed them to be made of dark chocolate, which I dislike. Yours look better, especially cause they don’t have any nuts. Eww….

  4. I am crazy about a sharp dressed man! And I love a man in a tuxedo!

  5. One word – Yummy.
    )))Corset Hug(((

  6. yummy recipe and excerpt. I want some tuxedo brownies now

  7. Wow. Yummy. I need to try this recipe too.

  8. Excellent post– tied together very well. That recipe looks yum and so does Sloan!

  9. Nice excerpt.

  10. Oh yum, that sounds scrumptious!

  11. LOL thought you were going to dish up a hunk as your recipe today 🙂 Great excerpt too.
    sherrygloag@ gmail dot com

  12. YUM! Sounds good and the book sounds really good

    MinDaf @aol.com

  13. Another great recipe! Thanks for being on the hop!

Leave a Reply

