Tuesday Tales – Small Town Picture Prompt

Badge for TT - very small

It’s time for another Tuesday Tales! Today we are working with a picture prompt. I’m veering away from The Thirteenth Knight this week. Today we are catching back up with Max and Chloe in Breaking the Cycle. And don’t forget to check out the excerpts from my extremely talented fellow authors on the Tuesday Tales website!

small town

“Thank you for coming with me to my nephew’s birthday party, Chloe.” Max slipped the car keys into his pocket as he gave her the sweetest, largest smile she ever saw. “I can’t wait to introduce you to my family.”

Chloe trotted beside him as they walked along the sidewalk. “It’s only fair. You’ve met my mom.”

He laughed. “Chloe, sweetheart. I live with you and your mom.”

She giggled in response. As they strolled along the sidewalk she glanced around at downtown New Ulm. It was a far cry from Minneapolis. There were department stores most people in metropolitan areas hadn’t seen since the late 1970’s. There were small town gift shops full of quilting supplies, old books, beautiful Christmas decorations and German knick knacks. There was a stately, formal concrete building that housed the local bank. The storefronts along the street were dotted with family restaurants and corner bars, each with windows leading to apartments built on top.

She jolted to a stop as Max pulled open the glass door to the hardware store. She felt her face flush in embarrassment as she stepped inside. Max let the door shut behind him.

“Max!” An older man who looked almost exactly like Max stood behind the counter wiping his hands on a rag. He strode around the counter and wrapped him in a bear hug.

“Hey, Dad. How are you?”

“Doing well, big city boy. How was your drive?”

“Beautiful day for a drive.” Max gently pressed his fingers to the small of Chloe’s back. “Dad, I’d like you to meet Chloe.”

Max’s dad extended his palm to Chloe and shook her hand. “Hi, Chloe. Nice to meet you. Max has told us a lot about you.

Chloe glanced up at Max. What exactly did he tell his family about her?

This Wednesday, my first release with Sweet Craving Publishing went live!

BlackIrish_SM

Sloan watched from a distance as Aubrey fought to keep Abbey from dashing away, a frightened doe in the terrifying forest named New York. Apparently, up to this point, the vicious predators of the city hadn’t sent her fleeing home.

Until he entered her world, obviously.

Sloan had to admit something about her alarmed him too. He knew many women and had been with several. But none of them like her. Innocent. Naïve. True. Or so she seemed at first glance.

He couldn’t pull away from her wide-eyed, burning, hazel gaze. He wanted to free her shining, brown tresses from her ponytail and bury his fingers in the locks. He wanted to taste her plump, rose lips. He wanted to caress her curves, feel her warmth.

Sloan could hear Abbey beg for another illustrator. He heard Aubrey counter that there was none better. He was part of the deal, or there was no deal. She was ready to walk away from a contract worth potential millions over a fear of him.

He wouldn’t let her do that. He wouldn’t let her leave his life before she ever became a part of it.

Slowly approaching the two women at the end of the hall, Sloan asked, “Aubrey, can I have a moment please? Let us talk it out and see if we can come to an agreement.”

Aubrey looked uneasily from him to Abbey then nodded. “Sure.”

Sloan waited for Aubrey to return to the conference room. He shot a warning glare at the associates that had gathered to watch the scene unfold before turning his attention back to Abbey.

“What’s the matter, miss?” Sloan took Abbey’s hands in his as he smiled encouragingly.

“I’m sorry. I’m sure you’re very talented. But I don’t think I would be comfortable working with you,” she confessed.

“You don’t even know me.”

“I know. And I’m sure you are a perfect gentleman. But, you see, I don’t think Michael would be very happy with me working with a…gifted man such as yourself.”

“Michael?”

Abbey blushed. “My boyfriend.”

Ah. There it is. A boyfriend. Sloan silently berated himself. He should’ve known a woman so beautiful would have already given her heart to someone. He couldn’t, however, allow her to get away so quickly. Perhaps he couldn’t have her, but that didn’t mean he had to let her go.

Thinking quickly, Sloan pressed one of her hands to his lips. “No worries, luv. I’m no threat.”

“How can you say that?”

“I’m gay.”

Her face brightened with relief. “Really?”

“Yes, Abbey. Gay.”

She blushed pink. “I’m so embarrassed I overreacted. Please forgive me?”

“Of course I forgive you. Now, will you stay and undertake this project with me?”

Abbey beamed. “Of course. I would love to.”

Sloan motioned for her to precede him back to the conference room. He watched her walk before him, his gaze transfixed on her hips, her slim waist, and her luscious curves. A little white lie. She’ll never know.

See Black Irish on Sweet Cravings Website!

 Don’t forget to stop back and check the rest of the Tuesday Tales!

Badge for TT - very small

 

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on May 13, 2013, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Very nice! Congratulations on your publishing!

  2. Love the first meeting and her wondering what he’d said. So now I need to know ,too! Lol. I hope there will be more of this so I can find out what he said and how the meeting goes. Nice shortie.

  3. Love the detail that there’s German Knick Knack in a town called New Ulm … made me giggle remembering the tongue twister we had back home with “Ulm” … LOL
    Congratulations on your release as well!

  4. Great post and congrats on the new release!

  5. Congrats on the new release!

    Love this take on the prompt…meeting the dad…so nervewracking. I’m sure he only had good things to say 🙂

  6. Want to know why she blushed when they entered the store 🙂
    Congratulations on your new book.

  7. Love your description of the stores. Congrats on the release

  8. Yes, now I want to know if she is paranoid for a good reason. Nice opening

  9. Oh the proverbial question… was it all positive? Always hated that first meeting of the ‘family’… great excerpt

  10. good description of the town

  11. I get the feeling it wasn’t what she was expecting… Looking forward to more..x

Leave a Reply

