Secret Cravings Contemporary Romance Blog Hop!

contemporary blog hop

Welcome to the Secret Cravings Contemporary Romance Blog Hop and welcome to my blog!  My contemporary romance, Black Irish, was released May 8th on the Sweet Cravings Publishing site.

SAMSUNG

To celebrate the Contemporary Romance Blog Hop, I am giving the following embroidered pillow, shamrock pin and cover flat to a lucky visitor to my blog!

Just enter a comment on my blog and at the end of the Blog Hop on Sunday night I will pick a winner!  Feel free to ask me a question – I’d be happy to answer!  Or just say “Hi”!

BlackIrish_SM

Abbey couldn’t believe he was gay. She nearly ran away from her dreams of being a children’s book writer when she was introduced to her illustrator Sloan O’Riley, a dark, sensual Irishman with incredible blue eyes. He certainly couldn’t be good for Abbey’s relationship with her boyfriend back in Iowa. How could she stay in New York and work with the sinfully sexy Sloan even if he was gay? And when Sloan is threatened to be deported, how far would Abbey go to keep him in the US?

Sloan was forced to tell a little white lie. He had no choice. He couldn’t let the sweet, beautiful, Abbey Wright flee from his life – not without a chance to explore the sudden desire he felt for her. But what would Abbey do if she ever discovered the truth about Sloan’s sexuality – or learned the deeper, darker secret he’s been hiding?

You can find Black Irish at the following sites:

Sweet Cravings Publishing

Amazon

All Romance Ebooks

Here is an excerpt from Black Irish…

Sloan set the stick of chalk on the table next to the easel. He swiveled around and watched Abbey type furiously on the keyboard of her laptop. She sat sideways in her chair, her back leaning against one arm as she dangled her legs over the other. Her white T-shirt dipped low against her full breasts and clung tightly to her figure. Her flowered capris caressed her hips and thighs. A flip-flop hung precariously off each fuchsia-painted big toe.

She bit her lip as she stared at the screen. He groaned. Lord, she’s beautiful.

The doors of the foyer opened and shut. Both Sloan and Abbey turned to find Robert leaning against the wall. He flipped through a pile of mail in his hand.

“Did I get anything?” Sloan inquired sarcastically.

Robert laughed. “Nope, nothing. Just bills, checks…” His voice trailed off as he stared at one particular envelope. He looked up at Sloan, his face solid stone. “Sloan, we need to talk. Alone.”

“What is it?”

“This isn’t a good time. Your office, please.”

Abbey looked at Sloan, concern flooding her face. He smiled at her gently then turned back to Robert. “Just give me the letter,” he demanded patiently. “Who could it be from that’s so important?”

Robert crossed the living room in a couple of determined strides, the muscles of his shorts-clad thighs bunching with each step. He snapped the envelope under Sloan’s nose.

“The INS. They caught up to you.”

Alarm filled Sloan’s eyes as he took the envelope and tore it open. He scanned the letter.

Abbey sat up in the chair. “What is it?” she asked timidly.

“Sloan is most likely being deported,” Robert answered.

“Why?” she near-screeched.

“Because I’m here illegally,” Sloan answered calmly, his voice pitching dangerously. He felt the fight within him bubbling to the surface. By the alarm in Abbey’s eyes, he sensed she could hear it too.

“I don’t understand.”

He stood, still clenching the document in his hand. “I came to the United States on an Investments visa. I invested a million dollars in an art gallery here in Manhattan seven years ago and came here to oversee it. It didn’t last long. When it closed, I never went back to Europe. I stayed here.”

“But they can’t send you away. You work for Panda.”

Sloan looked at Abbey. His face softened. “Under contract. Just like you.”

“There has to be a way for you to get another visa,” she insisted.

“There isn’t,” Robert thundered, shutting her down. “We’ve already thought about this.”

Abbey sank into her chair, dejected. Sloan glared at Robert, trying to spit fire with his eyes. Robert’s my best friend, but he can truly be an asshole.

A tense silence filled the room for a long time. Sloan collapsed onto the leather sofa, crumbling the paper in his fist then throwing it with vehemence. He watched as it bounced against one of the glass walls.

After several minutes, Abbey’s small voice broke the quiet. “What if you got married? Couldn’t you get a green card then?”

Robert chortled incredulously. “Who’s he going to marry, Abbey?”

“Aren’t you his partner? Aren’t you a U.S. citizen?” she demanded.

Robert’s laughter echoed throughout the penthouse. Sloan looked up at Abbey. He knew she could see the defeat in his eyes. “We aren’t ready for that step, Abigail. We aren’t that close. Our relationship is…casual.”

They all fell silent again. Then, Abbey took a deep breath and spoke. “Marry me.”

Sloan’s head snapped up in surprise. He stared at her in awe. “What did you say?”

“Marry me,” she repeated.

Sloan sat back on the couch, dumbfounded. “I can’t.”

“Why not?”

“It’s not a quick ceremony and an annulment. We’d have to stay together for over a year or two. We may have to live together.”

“So? You have an extra bedroom, don’t you?”

“You’re marrying Michael in two years.”

Abbey shrugged. “We don’t have to tell him. If anything, it will buy you some time to find another solution.”

Sloan stared at her then shifted his gaze to Robert. Robert shook his head in disbelief. Sloan smirked back at him. I want Abbey for my own, and under the ruse of a marriage, I can have her.

“So?” she insisted.

“You would be all right doing this? Being my wife? Changing your name to mine? It would have to be very soon,” he warned.

She took a deep breath and paused for a moment. Then she smiled. “Yes. I suggested it, didn’t I?”

Sloan returned her smile. “Very well. Let’s get married. Tomorrow.”

“Sounds great to me,” Abbey agreed.

You can find me on Facebook, Twitter and on my website.

Thanks for stopping by!  Leave me a comment to enter for the Blog Hop Prizes!   And don’t forget to check out the rest of the blogs from the Contemporary Romance Blog Hop by clicking the badge below!

contemporary blog hop

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on May 18, 2013, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Tricia,
    The premise and the excerpt are wonderful. You certainly have a way with description. Good luck on your release.

  2. Oh the Irish accent is up there next to the Cumbrian in my book. Liam Neeson in A Woman of Substance had the most lyrical to melt for voice. I always imagine his accent when reading about an Irishman

  3. Strange, thought I had left a comment. I always think of Liam Neeson when I imagine the Irish accent. Smooth and lyrical. Sigh and melts into a puddle

  4. Would love to read this book.hope I win

  5. Black Irish. 🙂 Yup, that’s part of my family tree!

  6. Best of luck! Black Irish sounds wonderful
    sugerlady@aol.com

  7. What a beautiful pillow! Did you do it yourself? Black Irish has an amazing cover and sounds just wonderful!

    daringzoey@yahoo.com

  8. Beautiful pillow and I love the premise of the book.

    susanmplatt AT Hotmail DOT com

  9. Trisha – The first thing I thought was what an excellent choice for a cover…model. 😉 (HUGE Jimmy Thomas fan!) After reading the excerpt, I cannot wait to read your book! I just added it to my TBR. Now I see that you embroidered the pillow? I am so touched that you would do that for us! Thank you!!

  10. What does Black Irish mean? What’s the connection/reference in the book? I always wonder why women (or men) are willing to jump in and break the law to keep someone they know (sometimes barely) from being deported. It makes good fiction, but not reality!

    • Black Irish is a term for those of Irish decent who do not have the stereotypical red hair/green eyes. My grandfather and my husband’s grandmother were both black Irish. Sloan, the hero in the novel, is also black Irish.

  11. I already have it and I thank you. Just wanted to pop in and say hello!

  12. Definitely a unique story line

  13. Nice excerpt

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  14. shadowluvs2read

    Hi! I love the sound of this! Great excerpt! You have my attention! Great tittle. Where did that come from? Thanks for sharing and being apart of this great hop!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  15. Thanks everyone for your patience! Just as I went to draw for a winner a major storm blew through.
    My lucky winner is Tina! Tina, please send me your e-mail address to tricia@triciaandersen.com and I will get your prizes out to you.
    Thanks everyone for stopping by!!

  16. Congrats, Tina!

Leave a Reply

