Tuesday Tales – Antique Store Picture Prompt

Badge for TT - very small

Hi everyone!  It’s Tuesday – time for Tuesday Tales!  This week we are using a picture prompt.  I’m taking a break from The Thirteenth Knight.  This week’s excerpt is from my WIP, Breaking the Cycle.  Last time we caught up with Max and Chloe, Chloe had just met Max’s dad.  Don’t forget to check the excerpts of the other very talented writers of Tuesday Tales!

antique store

Chloe and Max talked with Max’s dad for a few more minutes before they said goodbye.  They stepped outside and began their trek back to the car.

As they passed an antique store, Chloe stopped and peered into the window.  Her eyes caught an old, brightly painted metal fire truck.  “Max, wait.  I haven’t bought your nephew a gift yet.”  She pointed at the fire truck.  “Will he like that?”

Max smiled at her choice.  “Absolutely.”

Chloe and Max stepped inside the small store filled with all sorts of ancient trinkets.  The room was cast in a soft gold glow.  Chloe gazed at a gold pocket watch then glanced at Max.  I don’t quite see him as a pocket watch kind of guy.  Chloe carefully picked up the fire truck and carried it to the counter.  As the small, rotund woman wrapped the truck, Chloe turned to Max.

“Max, I always wondered.  Why did Jack constantly pursue you to work for Hard Knocks?  You know so much about mixed martial arts.”

“Because I used to compete.”  Max sighed.  “In college.  I was going to be the next Rico, the next up and coming star.  But I tore my ACL apart in a match.  After three grueling surgeries, I gave up.”  He gently brushed a lock of her hair from her shoulder.  “That’s why I admire you so much.  You have gone through so much with your CVS, been hospitalized so many times.  It makes my little injury look pathetic.  And you still get up and live your life after it all.  You are so strong to go through it all and still smile.”

Chloe felt her face flush pink at Max’s compliment as she accepted the bag from the shopkeeper.  He took her other hand in his.  After thanking the shopkeeper, they walked hand in hand back to the car.

Thanks for stopping by!  And don’t forget to stop by the other Tuesday Tales blogs!

Badge for TT - very small

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on June 17, 2013, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. What a lovely scene! Low key, but sweet. I like his support and admiration of her and her coping with CVS. Looking forward to this book.

  2. I love the way you integrated the picture prompt into your story this week.

  3. Lovely scene. well done.

  4. Great use of the picture prompt!

  5. Lovely scene…he’s so sweet to her. Loving this story. 🙂

  6. Love the details in you’re scene.

  7. That is a beautifully insightful scene

  8. I loved it. Great use of the prompt and well done on the description of the scene.

  9. I love Max’s verbal appreciation and praise for Chloe. great TT

  10. Wonderful use of the prompt and a really touching scene..xx

Leave a Reply

