A Character Interview That Went Very, Very Wrong

I want to start this blog post with an extra special Thank You to my dear, dear friends Jean Joachim and H.N. Sieverding.  Once again I’ve borrowed their fantastic ideas and broke out of my shell to give it a try.  Hopefully mine works half as well as their’s did.  Click HereAnd Here to see what I mean.

television

Things around the Andersen household have been a little more chaotic than usual – overly humid Iowa summers which never works well with Ali, Jake still adjusting to the Central Time Zone, two extremely long car trips in a week, Mom working 24/7.  There is a lot of late night noise as a few of us deal with insomnia.  Couple that with a couple of playful cats – well, you get the idea.  So I wasn’t too shocked when last night I woke up hearing some noise.  But as I listened close I didn’t hear a child or cat.

Nope.  I heard the deep, silky brogue of a certain 6’6″ sensual Irishman with black hair, blue eyes and a temper.  One who hasn’t been too happy that he’s not been interviewed for a blog yet.  Then I heard the soft, delicate voice of a certain medieval Queen.  I sprung out of bed.  This CAN’T be good.  I watched silently as the impromptu interview began.

imagesCAQMIEDZ

Sloan:  Have a seat.

Cassandra:  I’d rather not.  I know about you.

S:  I don’t bite.  (He rakes his eyes over her body.)  I might nibble a bit.

C:  I’m not amused.

S:  Sit.  (Cassandra settles into a seat.  Sloan sits across from her.  With an evil grin he begins.)   So, is there a man in your life?

C:  Aren’t you married?

S:  Do you answer all questions asked of you with a question?

C:  Only when I don’t like where they are going.  Yes.  My husband, Matthew.  He’s the love of my life.  And a KING.

S:  I’m a billionaire.

C:  Are you overcompensating for something?

S:  Hardly, Angel.  I asked my question because I heard there is a love triangle in Queen of Savon.  Something about you and Victor?  Tell me about that little affair.

C:  I would hardly call it an affair.

S:  Oh, really?  Chapter Seven… (Sloan slides finger over e-reader to flip pages).

untitled

C:  All right.  I was intimate with him.  Once.  We were betrothed.

S:  Betrothed?

C:  Engaged.

S:  Just say engaged then.

C:  (Cassandra shoots Sloan an icy glare)  Then Victor deceived me and turned me over to my enemy.

S:  Hmm…likes bad boys.  I’ve still got a shot then.

C:  (She smirks.)  Hardly, Angel.

S: (This time he glares at her).  You’re a sorceress.  You know magic, spells, potions?

C:  Yes.

S:  Do a spell for me.

C:  Do I look like a trained monkey?

S:  So you can’t do one.

C:  Oh, I can do one.  I have thought of plenty while conversing with you.

S:  Then why won’t you show me one?

C:  I’ve met Abbey.  She is a very sweet, dear, patient woman.  I wouldn’t want to…displease her.  And all the spells I’ve conjured in my head would certainly displease her.  Especially in the bedchamber.

S:  I will let that one slide.  Abigail is full of spit-fire.  Just like you.  Why do you think Tricia writes hell-cat heroines like the two of you?

C: To deal with asinine heroes.  Like you.

S:  While we’re on the subject, what do you think of our beloved author?

C:  I am honored to be in one of her novels.  I think she’s very talented.  I respect her tremendously.  However, I don’t believe you and I feel the same.

S:  What makes you say that?

C:  I hear you two fight.  You are constantly harassing her.  It gets very vocal.  Very loud.

untitled2

S:  Ah, Angel.  That is just two Irish tempers clashing.  Besides, the only lass I have wrapped tighter around my finger than Abigail is Tricia.

C:  You truly believe that?

S:  Let’s just say that ours is a very…passionate relationship.

C:  (She gasps as her eyes grow wide.)  Surely you jest!

S:  Hardly, Angel.  And as they say, there’s nothing better than make-up se…

C:  (Holds up her hand to stop him.)  That’s all I need to hear.  If you will please excuse me, this interview is over.  (Gets up and races away into the night.)

S:  (Chuckles amused.  That is until he realizes I’m in the room).  Uhoh.  Luv, I can explain…

T:  Yeah.  Good luck with that.  It’s about to get really loud in here…

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on June 27, 2013, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I loved this! Especially when they’re talking about you 🙂

Leave a Reply

