Welcome to the Secret Cravings Publishing Historical Romance Blog Hop!

1009433_10201041956869911_1520320038_o

Hello everyone and welcome to the Secret Cravings Publishing Historical Romance Blog Hop!!

QueenofSavon_LRG

I love, love, love to write medieval romance and my current release is my first one published, Queen of Savon.  It is the story of Cassandra, a sorceress, who is orphaned at a young age.  She is found by her grandfather, the sorcerer Malicar, who also serves as the king’s advisor.  She is brought up in the palace alongside two boys – the king’s son, Matthew and Victor, the young man chosen to be Matthew’s commander of the army.  However growing up in the palace comes at a price for Cassandra – she is forced to take a vow to serve Matthew as his advisor for the rest of her life without the chance of a husband and children of her own.  As the three of them grow up, Cassandra finds herself caught between the two men and her longing for her dream of a family.  She is forced to make a choice – to run away with a man she doesn’t love to have the life she dreams of or stay shackled to the man she loves with all her heart and soul but cannot have?

And for your viewing pleasure, click here for the Queen of Savon trailer! 

And for the Blog Hop I am giving away a copy of Queen of Savon and a $5.00 gift card to Starbucks (one of my weaknesses!) to one lucky commenter who tells me what their favorite part of the Medieval age is!  Is it the palaces?  Is it the swordplay?  Or is it the valiant, sexy knights??

I am excited to share a sample of Queen of Savon with you.  This part is actually my favorite!

Cassandra firmly capped the bottle of herbs with a cork and slipped the container in her bag. She marked her books, stacking one on top of the other. Glancing out the window, she watched as Matthew gently kissed Stephana before helping her into the carriage.

Sighing, she pulled herself away from the window to gather more herbs. She picked up her books and the bag of bottles. Then, she hobbled to the door and struggled to open it with her one free hand.

Cassandra jumped back, startled, as she discovered Matthew standing in the doorway. He clung to the doorframe as he stared at her.

“How may I serve, my lord?” she greeted as she awkwardly bowed to him.

“Where are you going?” he asked, barely audible.

“Home. I have much to do before I return in the morning and you leave for battle.”

Matthew paused. “I did not propose to Stephana.”

Cassandra set her items on a table nearby. “That was unwise, my lord.”

Matthew stared at her as he dug his fingernails into the wood of the frame. “Cassa, do not leave me like this.”

Cassandra swallowed as she heard the urgency in his voice. “Like what, my lord?”

“Like this—the formal address, the subservient nature. This.” Matthew stood up straight, taking a step to grip her arms in his hands.

“Tell me her name,” Matthew demanded.

“There is no one.”

“Tell me her name,” Matthew begged. “Tell me, and I will give her my heart and make her my bride. I swear this.”

Cassandra stared at him, tears filling her eyes. “What if she belongs to another man?” She looked away as the words she spoke seemed to crush him. He closed his eyes, fighting to defeat the truth, the truth he already must know. Capitalizing on his weakness, Cassandra pulled away. “I told you there is no one.”

He grasped her hand, pressing it to his heart. “No, my lady, I will win her. I will fight, and I will not stop until she is cradled in my arms. This I promise you. Do you hear me? This I promise you.”

Her tears burst their floodgates as she slipped her fingers from his. “I must go,” she stumbled out. “I have much to do. I must go.”

Cassandra scooped up her books then swept by Matthew and ran down the stairs. She cringed as she heard him call her name, his voice betraying his pain.

Cassandra could not sleep. She lay in her bed, staring at the ceiling of her room as the night passed by. As dawn brushed the sky, she pulled herself from her covers, dressed, and trudged her return to the palace.

In no time, she stood in the courtyard, the soldiers around her completely oblivious to her presence. She glanced up as Victor rode next to her. “Lock yourself in the tower. I will see you when I get back,” he instructed as he kissed her on the cheek.

“Stay safe,” she murmured.

Cassandra looked to the ground as Victor’s horse trotted away. Then, she raised her head as she heard hoof steps approach. Matthew wandered across the courtyard, leading his stallion behind him. His eyes, yearning and desperate, locked on her.

She shuddered as he approached, his stride determined as he wove his way around the soldiers scattered around the courtyard. He stopped, dropping the reins of his horse, when he reached her.

Without warning or care for decency, Matthew cupped Cassandra’s face in his hands drawing her lips to his and parting them in a soul-wrenching kiss. She clung to his arms as he tasted her, clearly searching for confession, answers—her love for him. As he pulled away, he whispered, “Lock yourself in. I could not live another day if anything happened to you.”

Matthew’s fingers caressed Cassandra’s skin once more before they slipped away to grasp his horse’s reins. He glanced at her over his shoulder before he disappeared behind the wall. Cassandra hugged herself tightly, her limbs shaking in uncertainty.

Collecting herself as much as possible, she wound her way to her tower blindly. Her thoughts were incoherent. Matthew? Victor? She rubbed her fingertips against her swollen lips. Both had made their feelings for her abundantly clear. And both were riding out to battle. Above all, the vows she had taken as a child dictated she could have neither of them.

Tears filled her eyes as she collapsed onto her cushion. The only thing she knew with clarity was that she needed to get her thoughts together. It wouldn’t be long before she would be joining them on the battlefield.

Don’t forget to check out the other Secret Cravings Authors blogs for more steamy, sexy Historical Romance!  Click the image below to return to the Secret Cravings blog to continue the Blog Hop!

1009433_10201041956869911_1520320038_o

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on July 26, 2013, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Good Morning,
    Poor Cassandra,
    how will things ever work out for her? Can’t wait to read more.

  2. The best part of the medieval era…well, for me, it’s the battles. I’ve got this thing about military history, you see. I like the castles, too.

  3. Congratulations on the new book!

    I haven’t had the chance to read a lot of medieval romances but the manners and social code of the time is very interesting.

    Thank you for the great giveaway!

  4. I guess for me medieval wise, it has to be the way that chivalry, romance and religion were all intertwined. Granted it was a messy period of history, lots of wars and changing of kings etc… but divorce was exceptionally rare. mrsajward@hotmail.com

  5. Congratulations on your new book. You have certainly caught my interest.

  6. I love the premise of your story and, though not a paranormal fan, may have to buy this book!

  7. Love this story!! And my favorite thing about the time period is the gallantry and manners!

  8. My favorite part is the grand palaces and the gallantry.

  9. It’s been a long time since i read a medieval romance. I tend to go for the highlanders and highland settings, but I love a good medieval romance and your book sounds delicious. Congrats on your first release and may you have many more.

  10. I love a good historical….

  11. Shirley Buchanan

    This sounds like such a delicious book. The promises that one makes as a child can be so confining as an adult. This book must be full of twists and turn,heart wrenching decisions, and magic from Cassandra. Loved the excerpt. Would love to read the entire book to know the ending. I love the way the knights pair off to practice their sword play when they undress down to their britches… all that bare masculine skin. Also love the castles and the people who live there. Hope I win. Happy writing!

  12. Congratulations, Morgan K. Wyatt! You’ve won the copy of Queen of Savon and the $5.00 Starbucks gift card!! Thank you so much to everyone for commenting! It was a great weekend!!

Leave a Reply

