The Charming Hero Blog Hop

charming heroes blog hop

Hi Everyone and Welcome to the Charming Hero Blog Hop!  Everyone loves a charming hero of course!  And I have one deep, dark charming one to offer!  Who may you ask?

None other than Sloan O’Riley, the hero of the Black Irish Series!!

***And one lucky commenter to this post will win an e-book copy of both Black Irish and Heartland when it releases next Friday!!!***

i-cant-hold-this-day-anymoreWant to learn a little more about Sloan?  Let’s answer a few questions…

– What your hero’s name and where does he come from?  Sloan O’Riley from Belfast, Northern Ireland
– What’s your charming hero’s profession?  He is an artist.  He also invests in real estate and brokers art.
– Now, there’s a lot about our heroes that sets all women in a flutter. What’s your hero’s greatest weapon when it comes to seduction?  It’s a toss up between his incredible ice blue eyes and his deep silky brogue.  
– If your hero resembled one or more celebrities, who would they be? (provide pictures, he could be a blend)  He looks earily similar to WWE wrestler Wade Barrett (yum…)

3c3402328db861b1d36a637d1dce7172

– Apart from being incredible charming, how would you describe your hero’s personality?   Smooth.  Fiercely protective.  He has a tendency to be a little manipulative.  He can be cold and calculating to those he is not close to.  But to those close to him he is warm and loving.
– Does your hero have a favourite saying or motto?  Non-Negotiable.  (Sloan ALWAYS gets his way.)
– Post a scene of ten lines or less that captures your hero using his charm to win over both our readers and heroine.  I apologize…it’s definitely longer than 10 lines…

Abbey’s heart thundered in her chest. She was alone with Sloan. He betrayed her. Yet she couldn’t stop thinking about him. It was time for answers. Her stomach twisted at the thought of asking for them.

“I’m glad you’re here. I was running out of gift ideas,” Sloan crooned. “Does this visit mean you’ve accepted my offer?”

“I have some questions first.”

“Of course.” He motioned her forward.

She timidly stepped into the living area. Compared to the opulence of the space and its owner, she in her waitress uniform was certainly the thing that didn’t belong.

Taking a deep breath, she asked quietly, “Why did you lie to me?”

Sloan paused. “I couldn’t have you leave.”

“Why not?”

He didn’t answer.

“You said it wasn’t the money or the visa. Then why? Why couldn’t you let me leave?”

Sloan slowly crossed over to her. He gently caressed her cheek with his fingertips. “I needed to know if there could be something between us,” he answered softly.

Oh wow! Her knees turned to jelly. “And do you think there could be something between us?”

His mouth turned up in a sexy smile as he gazed into her warm, hazel eyes. “I’d like to think there could be.”

Oh, double wow. Abbey’s heart picked up its rapid pace. “Sloan, I’ve been wondering. Did you ever get to a lawyer? I mean, I didn’t. I didn’t have the money. Are we still…”

She felt his breath on her face as he leaned closer to her. “Married? Aye. We’re still married. I did not get an annulment.”

“You’re still my…” Her voice failed her again.

“Husband. Aye, luv, I am.”

“And I’m still your…”

“My beautiful, wee wife.”

It was all too much—his presence, his confession, and the realization they were still married. Abbey felt the hot rush of tears as a sob caught in her throat. “I can’t, Sloan. I can’t do it. I’m sorry.”

Sloan’s lips tightened to a thin line as he took a step away from her. She felt void from just that little bit of distance. His voice was suddenly cold. “May I ask why not?”

“The second book…was on my laptop…I forgot to back it…up to my flash drive,” Abbey stammered between heaving breaths. “The guy at the…pawn shop wiped…the drive clean. It’s gone.” Her cries quickly turned to hiccups, a trait that irritated her to no end.

She felt his warmth as he enveloped her in his arms. She looked up at him through tear-swollen eyes. His sexy smirk was back.

“Luv, it’s not gone. It’s here.” Sloan gently tapped her forehead. “And here.” He tapped her chest. “We just have to find it.”

Abbey returned his smile. His faith was reassuring.

“So,” he coaxed. “Should we try?”

Abbey silently nodded. She didn’t think Sloan’s grin could grow wider, but it did.

“Very good. I will send Robert and Bartholomew to your apartment tomorrow to pack your things. And you will resign immediately—”

Abbey stepped back from Sloan and held up her palm to silence him. She swallowed hard to suppress her residual hiccups.

“No,” she began. “I appreciate you getting our contracts back. But it doesn’t erase the fact you lied to me. That, and Michael stealing all my money and running away with my supposed best friend—”

“He what?” Sudden fury blazed through Sloan. She could feel it roll off him in waves.

“Sloan, it’s ancient history. Michael disappeared. I’ve made it on my own. I want to keep it that way. I don’t want to be dependent on anyone. I don’t want to fall like that again.”

“That neighborhood is dangerous,” he warned, his voice deep.

“It was before, and it will be when I return. I’ll be okay,” she assured. “You haven’t had your posse looking out for me the entire time I’ve lived in Brownsville, have you?”

He glared at her silently, his hands clenched on his hips.

Abbey continued, “Thank you for the offer to move into your beautiful home. But no. I’m agreeing to write a second book with you.” She took a deep breath. “Nothing more.”

She could tell by the way his eyes glanced away that he understood everything she meant. There was a cold silence between them for several moments.

“Shall we start tomorrow?” Sloan proposed.

“Sure,” Abbey agreed. “I’ll take the subway and get here—”

“Nonsense,” he interrupted, irritation evident in his brogue. “Gordon will pick you up after you finish work, just as he will take you home tonight.”

There was danger in his voice. She had pushed him as far as he could go before his Irish temper reared its ugly head. It was time to concede. “Of course. Thank you.” Abbey shuffled her feet. “It’s getting late. I should be going.”

Sloan silently strode across the foyer to open the door for her. She followed. Stopping short before crossing the threshold, she looked into his eyes, seeing the storm brewing within them. She timidly touched his chest.

“Thank you for everything, Sloan. I appreciate it.” She pressed a soft kiss on his cheek before slipping out the door and walking across the vestibule to the waiting elevator.

BlackIrish_LRGHeartland_LRG

Please make sure to stop by and check out the other Charming Hero Blogs!!  Click on the badge below to get back to the Facebook page!!

charming heroes blog hop

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on August 2, 2013, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Fell for Sloan quicker than Abbey did! Can’t wait to see what happens next!

  2. Love this excerpt and the sexy pics. Yum lol 😉

  3. Sorry, Tricia. Your vision of Sloan, of course, takes precedence, since you created him, but the Sloan in my mind is totally different. Smoother, more elegant, more dangerous.

  4. Hot hot hot tension! Wow, great excerpt. M. S.

  5. Love this excerpt and the sexy pics. Yum lol 😉

  6. Loved the image of a storm brewing in his eyes. And his ‘wee wife’ sounds adorable. Thanks for the delicious excerpt!

  7. Sorry it’s taken so long for me to draw but…Heidi, you have won the copy of Black Irish and Heartland!! Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

