Sitting down with Julie Shelton

wine and chocolate

Happy Wednesday, everyone!!  Today I have Julie Shelton, author of the newly released (and when I say newly released I mean TODAY!!) novel Owning Sarah, a sequel to Loving Sarah.  Who better to hear about the new release than from Julie herself and her hero, Jesse Colter!  Hey guys!  Thanks for joining me! 

And three lucky readers of my blog will win a signed copy of Owning Sarah! Just leave a comment below showing Julie and Jesse some love!!

So let’s get started on these questions.  Julie, tell me a little about yourself.

I am a former children’s librarian and professional storyteller/puppeteer.  For nearly thirty years I did story times with puppets at day care centers, elementary schools, birthday parties, holiday parties, and at the Puppetry Arts Center of the Palm Beaches.  Now I write erotic romances, thus following the basic “children’s-performer-to-erotica-author” career arc previously taken by so many of my fellow authors 🙂

How about you, Jesse?  Tell me a little about you.

My mother abandoned me, my father used me as his punchin’ bag—when he was sober enough to actually throw a punch.  I was small for my age until I was around fourteen.  That was the last time my father hit me.  I left home at fifteen—made a place for myself in the attic of my cousins’ farmhouse.  Worked on cars and motorcycles to earn money for food.  When I was nineteen I took a summer job as gardener’s assistant at the Marshall estate.  That’s when I met Sarah.  She was thirteen and about to fall thirty feet out of a tree.  I’d never climbed a tree so fast in my life!  By the time I showed up for work the next summer she had hit puberty  She was so gorgeous she made my hands shake and my heart beat so fast I thought I was havin’ a heart attack.  The things she was makin’ me feel terrified me.  I was bad news and I knew I had to stay away from her before I completely destroyed her future.  The last time I saw her was the day of her eighteenth birthday.  I pulled a potential rapist off of her, then practically took her myself.  I left town that night and joined the Navy, where I served as a SEAL for eight years.

Wow.  Jesse, let’s stay with you.  Who is the most important person in your life?

Sarah is by far the most important person in my life.  That summer I rescued her from fallin’ outta that tree, I didn’t know what to make of her.  I was full of my own teen-aged crap, but even then I knew she was someone truly special.  I’d never met anyone like her.  She was only thirteen, but she was the smartest person I’d ever met.  She kept after me and kept after me until I finally gave in and read all her favorite books.  Thank God I did.  She turned me into a reader.  She talked like a little adult, and she actually sought out my opinion.  It was the first time in my life I had been…valued.  Even though she was raised in the lap of luxury, her childhood was just as devoid of love as mine.  Her father was a judge worked all the time and who paid no attention to her, so she was basically raised by tutors and nannies.  She was…magical, and that summer we were inseparable.

Sarah seems incredible.  Julie, back to you.  Where do you find the inspiration for your books?

Everywhere.  Years ago, after seeing a blue gown on a background character minor character in the movie, Becket, the entire plot of a novel set in the Middle Ages sprang into my mind.  I couldn’t write it down fast enough.  I wrote the entire thing on 3 x 5 index cards—still have it.  It’s in two shoeboxes on top of my bookcase, along with three shoeboxes of research notes on the Middle Ages, also written on 3 x 5 index cards.  Of course, all this happened before computers.

Now, Julie, this might be a question Jesse would be interested in coming from you.  Do you carefully plot out what you are about to write or do you just go for it?

I have a general idea of where I’m going when I start a book, but I don’t have all the details.  When I started my first book, Loving Sarah I thought I knew where it was going.  But when I was more than halfway through, my characters took over and took me in a completely different direction.  I had the choice of sticking to my guns, or following where they led, which meant I would have to eliminate several very good scenes.  I dithered a long time over this sudden unexpected turn of events.  I finally decided to follow my characters, realizing that I could use the discarded scenes in a sequel, which ultimately made both books much more exciting!  So, in answer to your question, I just go with the flow.

I think most authors do actually.  Jesse, what do you do for a living?

I’m the Chief of Police of Marshall’s Creek, Virginia, both Sarah’s and my home town.

What’s the first thing you do in the morning, Jesse?

I tighten my arms around Sarah, bury my face in that sweet spot where her neck meets her shoulder and just breathe her in.  Then Adam and I torment her until she’s screaming with pleasure.

Lucky girl!!  And before you fall asleep at night?

Exactly the same thing, except in reverse.  This is usually after a nice long session in the Play Room, followed by more fun and games in the shower.

Very lucky girl!!  Julie, how do you get prepared to write?  Do you make a pot of coffee?  Listen to music?

Well, I don’t drink coffee, so that’s out.  And I don’t put on music, because when I’m playing music I find myself actually listening to it.  If it’s a song, I’m singing along and bopping around in my chair, if it’s classical, movie soundtrack, or some other instrumental, I’m still humming along with it.  So, I roll out of bed, open up the laptop and pick up where I left off the day before.  I go until I get hungry.

Jesse, describe yourself to my readers.  It’s not fair Julie and I hog the eye candy.

I’m tall, 6’3”, and, thanks to my Native American DNA, I have the straight black hair, aquiline nose, and high cheekbones of my heritage.  I now wear my hair short, but it used to come down to my shoulders.  Bein’ a SEAL for eight years helped me hone my body so that I’m muscular, but not muscle-bound like a body builder.  My eyes are dark brown, nearly black.  I’ve been told I look like a cross between Jason Momoa and Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson.  Could be worse, I suppose.  I could look like a cross between Fred Mertz and Barney Fife.  Not a good look for a super-macho, bad-ass, alpha-male commando-type (as Sarah likes to call me).

Ok, final question for both of you.  Jesse, what do you think of your author?

I love that woman.  A few years ago, I knew she was lookin’ for a story to write and I knew she’d do justice to my story.  I kinda sprung Adam on her—my best friend, Adam Sinclair.  She wasn’t expectin’ us to wind up in a menage relationship.  And I kinda surprised her by bein’ a Dom, but she kept up, bless her heart, and did a superb job of tellin’ our story.

And Julie – what do you think of Jesse?

I am totally, 100%, head over heels in love with Jesse Colter.  I don’t think I could have told his story if I hadn’t fallen in love with him.

Thank you to both of you for being on my blog today.  I really appreciate it.  It was fun chatting with you!  Now, let’s take a look at that new novel coming out today, Owning Sarah!

owning sarah

Blurb:

It’s been a month since Sarah Marshall was kidnapped and held at knife-point by her ex-fiance.  But Jesse Colter and Adam Sinclair, her two loving Doms, know that there is an even deadlier threat still out there—Ryder Malone.

He blames both Sarah and Jesse for sending him to prison eight years ago for attempted rape, and he’s determined to make them pay.  So, he begins a systematic campaign of terror and intimidation against them.  But the danger he poses doesn’t end there.

Set against the deepening love and commitment between Sarah, Jesse, and Adam, Owning Sarah is more than just a sexy, sensual, BDSM love story.  It is a harrowing race against time for Jesse, Adam, and a team of former SEALs to stop one of the biggest arms-for-drugs deals in U.S. history.  And to rescue Sarah before Malone sells her to a human trafficker and she’s lost to her men forever.

Excerpt:

Maggie reached out to grab the check, but a quelling look from Jesse had her drawing back her hand. “I see what you mean,” she murmured as they were getting back into the car. “Definitely bossy.”

Sarah giggled. “Oh, God, you don’t know the half of it.”

“Does he bite?”

“Um…”Sarah’s cheeks flamed, and it was Cassie and Maggie’s turn to giggle.

Jesse ahemed loudly. “If you ladies are finished assassinatin’ my character, may I ask where we’re goin’?”

“Oh, right. We’re meeting Lisa and Heather in an hour at the bridal salon in Williamsburg.” Sarah gave him the name and address of the store, watching him enter it into his Onstar before merging onto I-64 and heading east.

Lisa and Heather were already there when Jesse finally pulled into a parking spot right in front of the historic old building that housed the salon. For the next three hours the five women bonded over a veritable flurry of gorgeous gowns and dresses. Although, initially, Lisa’s goth looks drew a few stares and more than one raised eyebrow from the shop’s other patrons, she was still a giggly girl at heart and threw herself wholeheartedly into the spirit of the occasion. Despite their widely disparate backgrounds, the women found they had a lot in common, not the least of which was their love and admiration for Sarah Marshall.

Adam and Jesse stood back, arms folded across their chests, watching the goings-on in mild amusement. The first four gowns Sarah tried on and modeled for them were lovely, but nothing special in their opinion. Not nearly special enough for the love of their life, although they assured her she looked spectacular in each one. It wasn’t until she walked slowly out of the dressing room wearing the fifth gown that their hearts plummeted to the floor before jerking back up and spinning like yo-yos. As soon as they saw the beatific smile on her face, they knew she’d found the gown of her dreams. It was a strapless, close-fitting, ivory peau de soie that hugged all her curves before flaring slightly below the hips to fall gracefully to the floor. It was beaded all over in a simple, subtle pattern of vines and flowers. Instead of a veil she wore a coronet of silk freesias, orange blossoms, stephanotis, and daisies, Sarah’s favorite flower.

Not that Jesse and Adam knew any of that. Nor did they care. All they cared about was that she looked so exquisite, so elegant, so ethereal standing there looking up at them hesitantly, neither man could control the emotions tightening their chests, nor the sting of sudden tears in their eyes.

Fighting the lump in his throat, Jesse dropped his arms and strode over to her, pulling her gently, almost reverently into his arms. “God, sugar, I love you so much. I’ve never seen anythin’ more beautiful in my life than you in this dress. I can’t wait to see you walkin’ down the aisle toward me,” he whispered. Lifting a hand to wipe the tear from her cheek with his thumb, he threaded his fingers through her hair and palmed the side of her face. After staring at her for what seemed like forever, he lowered his head, barely touching his lips to hers in a kiss that sank deep into her soul, robbing her of her ability to think. A kiss that went on and on, holding everyone else in the salon in thrall, as if a binding spell had been cast upon them.

When he finally lifted his head, the room seemed to sigh as he stepped aside to let Adam take his place. His kiss was just as reverent, just as arousing, just as adoring as Jesse’s, and as it lengthened, one of the bridal consultants, whose name tag said Debbie, poked her elbow into Maggie’s side. “Where do I get me one of those?” she asked out of the side of her mouth.

“Wish I knew,” Maggie replied.

“So, which one is she marrying?” the other consultant whispered curiously, neither of them taking their eyes off of the kissing couple, both pairs of eyes widening as Jesse stepped up behind Sarah and put his arms around her, sandwiching her between them.

A chorus of feminine “Oo-o-o-hs ” soughed around the room.

“Both.”

“Well, that’s hardly fair.” Debbie said, sounding a bit miffed.

Maggie grimaced. “Tell me about it.”

Finally, Adam raised his head and grinned down at the lovely woman looking at him with a dazed expression. Her lips were kiss-swollen and slightly parted as her breaths came in short, trembling sighs. Applause broke out all around the salon, along with a few wolf whistles. “We seem to be attracting attention, sweet pea,” Adam said, lifting his head to glance around the room.

“Huh?” It was all she was capable of. Her ability to form words into sentences, something she had excelled at not twenty minutes earlier, seemed to have deserted her.

Adam laughed and both men released her. “Looks like you’ve found your weddin’ gown, baby,” Jesse said.

“You really like it?” she asked, although she knew the answer. She’d known the minute she’d seen the looks on their faces as she’d walked toward them wearing this gown. She was just fishing for compliments. A gal could never get too many compliments.

“The only thing we’ll like better than seein’ you in that dress on our weddin’ day,” Jesse murmured softly, “is takin’ you out of it on our weddin’ night.”

“Another thing to look forward to,” Adam added with a wicked grin.

Where to Buy Owning Sarah:  http://www.sirenpublishing.com

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on September 25, 2013, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi, Tricia, the post looks great. It was a terrific idea to interview both Jesse and me. I hope he behaved himself. (lol). Just one brief reminder to your readers. The only place Owning Sarah can be purchased is at http://www.sirenpublishing.com. The buy links you posted are where its prequel, Loving Sarah can be purchased.

    Thanks so much for having me as your guest!

Leave a Reply

