Tuesday Tales – Abrupt

Badge for TT - very small

Hello and welcome to another Tuesday Tales!!  This week’s word it “abrupt”.  We are once again visiting my untitled Steampunk romance.  The beautiful Emma has just arrived on our hero, Gideon’s, door.  What could she want?

And don’t forget to stop by and check out the blogs of the other incredibly talented authors of Tuesday Tales!

Gideon stared at Emma dumbfounded as he struggled for words.  “I told Katerina I would send word.  I will not be pressured into this decision.”

Emma smiled.  “Captain Alexander, Katerina did not send me to  retrieve your answer.  There was more she wished to tell you.”    She tilted towards the door to peer inside the townhouse.  “May  I come in?”

Gideon’s breath caught in his throat.  The thought of this beautiful angel in his home electrified him.  He forced himself to breathe, to force his  desires under control.  Whatever he would do would be for his Sophia.  “I do not think…”

His words came to an abrupt halt as Emma laid her hand on his and guided him to push the door fully open allowing her to step inside.  She looked around the living area, taking in the stacks of books, the workbench, Gideon’s bed.  He winced.  It certainly was nothing like the Hellwig’s palace.  His home was cluttered, dusty and crawling with his gadgets.

Emma turned towards him.  “Your home is lovely, Captain Alexander.”

“Thank you.  And please call me Gideon.  What is it you needed to tell me?”

He watched her stop at the crate he deposited the brass spider in earlier.  His heart seized in his chest.  What would she think of a man who brought such creatures to life?  Her smile grew as she reached into the box.  A moment later the spider was nestled in her hand, whirling away happily as she pet it with delicate fingers. “Katerina is willing to pay you handsomely to help her.  200£ for the finished project.”

Gideon’s brow wrinkled at her news.  With 200£, he could buy his ticket to the colonies.  He could escape London and the memories that tortured him with every breath he took.  He could start over.  He sighed. “All right.  Tell Katarina I will make her gadget.  I will work with her.”

Please don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales blogs!!

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on November 4, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. An intriguing scene and very vivid.

  2. Wonderfully done! I`m enjoying your steampunk tale a great deal.

  3. Beautifully done! I have a feeling Emma will be a bigger help than hinderance if he can get over his need to avoid his need 😉

  4. I’ve got a feeling Emma wants something more from him besides working for Katerina

  5. Steam punk is cool!! Now I’m wondering what about her gadget is going to be bad and how is he going to get embroiled in something nasty. Well done!

  6. A mechanical spider brought to life, “whirling away happily as she pet it with her delicate fingers”. I love it!!

  7. Another great week in your tale. This story is coming along nicely and I’m enjoying reading these snippets!

  8. Makes me wonder what Katarina wants created.

  9. Soooo many questions …. whether Emma came for another reason as well and about the gadget. The spider freaked me a bit …. eek!

  10. So many questions to ask … about Emma, the gadget … the spider freaked me out a bit – eek!

Leave a Reply

