Tuesday Tales – Toes

Badge for TT - very small

Hey everyone!  We are back with more Tuesday Tales!  This week’s word prompt is “toes”.  After a few weeks off we are back with Gideon in my untitled Steampunk romance.  Edgar has stopped by and has just met Gideon’s new friend, Emma.  How will each man react?  Let’s see…

**A little warning – there are a couple foul words in this segment.**

Don’t forget to check out the incredible excerpts on the other Tuesday Tales blogs!

Gideon shut the door then turned to face his friend.  He crossed his arms over his broad chest, hoping Edgar would get the hint he was not welcome.
Edgar’s eyes raked over Emma as she bent over to look in the wood crate beside the workbench.  She straightened herself, revealing the metallic rabbit cradled in her hand.  She gently stroked its smooth bronze fur.  It wiggled its steel toes happily in response.

Gideon shifted from one foot to another as he watched her.  He could imagine her fingers not stroking the rabbit but his flesh instead.  His mind was suddenly filled with all sorts of unholy thoughts all involving Emma naked in his bed.  He shook himself back to his senses.

“Gideon?” Edgar questioned.

“What?”

“When I left you a few days ago, wild horses couldn’t drag you from this house.”  Edgar glanced back at Emma.  “Since then you’ve made a friend.  I’m glad.  I’m just curious of your change of heart.”

“Emma is helping me with a project.”

“We are building a humidor for General Hellwig,” Emma piped.

Edgar grinned at her.  “That is fantastic.  The general is a good man.  I would love to help.”
“No, thank you,” Gideon declined quietly.

Edgar’s smile quickly faded.  “And why not?”

“Because I am building it air tight so poison can be pumped in.  To kill him.”

“Why on earth would you want to kill the general?  He holds you in such high esteem.”

Gideon crossed the room until he was toe to toe with his friend.  “The bastard killed Sophia and Toby.”

“He couldn’t have.”

“Katarina Hellwig informed me he did.”

Edgar’s face turned a shade pale at the news.  “I can’t let you destroy your life like this, Gideon.”

“Don’t you worry.  When I am paid for the humidor, I am using the money to buy an airship ticket.  I am getting the hell out of England.”

A gasp from the corner of the room caught Gideon’s attention.  He met Emma’s tear-filled eyes.  Is she bothered by my crass language?  Or is she upset that I’m leaving?

Don’t forget to check out the other fantastic Tuesday Tales!!

Badge for TT - very small

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on January 6, 2014, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. How cool is a mechanical bunny?! I love this tale. =)

  2. Men are so dense. Of course she’s bothered by your leaving! Maybe Emma has a few fantasies involving Gideon and the bedroom too. Love this story.

  3. Hehe…just like a man to turn her petting of a bunny into a petting of him. Still, I love the connection between the two, and her reaction to his imminent departure. I’m a little concerned that he revealed his plans, though…I would think something like this he’d keep secret, even from his best friend.

  4. You surprised me with the mechanical bunny!!

  5. Love that Gideon is lusting after Emma and her tears really help seal the scene. Of course they aren’t tears of joy but sadness as she might not be able to fulfill her dreams

  6. metallic rabbit ?? great continuation of the story … i hope he will change his mind about killing general Hellwig so he’ll stay in england with emma. i’m sure the tears were for him!
    happy new year!

  7. Great use of the toes prompt- with a metal rabbit, no less. I love it

Leave a Reply

