Tuesday Tales – Mirror Picture Prompt

Badge for TT - very small

Happy Tuesday!  It’s once again time for Tuesday Tales!  Today we have a picture prompt – a mirror.  We are back with our untitled Steampunk romance.  When we left last week, Gideon discovered Emma’s betrayal.  What will he do now?  Let’s find out!!

And don’t forget to check out the incredible excerpts from other very talented Tuesday Tales authors!

1897846_10202608018060462_1061067824_n

Gideon stormed through the streets of London as his temper raged.  When had he let Emma under his skin?  He desired her, he fell in love with her.  And the whole time she was leading him to murder.

When his anger subsided he found himself at the tavern door.  Several stiff drinks would drive Emma from his mind.  He opened the door, stepped inside and slumped onto a barstool.  The barkeep scuttled off to get his liquor.

Gideon fixed his eyes on the mirror behind the bar as he waited.  His gaze traced the graceful silver curls of the frame.  His focus never wavered as he grasped the glass of absinthe and swallowed it.

That was when he saw it in the reflection of the glass.  He spun to get a closer look.  Behind him sat Katarina’s thugs.  One held the silk red rose that Gideon made for Sophia.  The bastard had killed his precious wife.  He rose from his stool and settled at a nearby table to attack.

“Where did you get that?” the other ruffian inquired.

“Sophia gave it to me one morning when I rose from her bed.  I was fascinated so she gave it to me.  It is a shame I had to kill her.  Katarina paid me handsomely to do so though.”

“And your son?”

“With my family in the country.  That imbecile believed Toby was his.  Sophia had to summon him to her to hide the fact I fathered the child.  I shared her bed from the day he left to serve until the day I took her life.”

Gideon’s blood turned to ice.  Sophia, his Sophia, was unfaithful?  She said she loved him.  The evidence in the man’s hand proved otherwise.

Instinct demanded the thug’s blood, demanded revenge.  He slowly exhaled.  No amount of alcohol would take away the betrayal of two women.  He slammed his fist on the table and rose.  He might not be able to get answers from Sophia.  He would get them from Emma.

Don’t forget to check out the blogs of the other Tuesday Tales authors!!

Badge for TT - very small

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on March 24, 2014, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Ah, like wow that’s so totally unbelievable what Sophia did to him. And the son, even though not Gideon’s is alive that’s interesting

  2. Wow, what a great twist to the story! Sure didn’t see that coming!! Still not sure the kid isn’t his. I guess we’ll have to wait to find out. Terrific suspense building.

  3. Holy macaroni what a twist. Awesome.

  4. What a twist! I guess this means no more pining for the dead wife.

  5. Holy crow, what a twist! Well done!

  6. Holy shnikies!! Poor Gideon! What a horrible series of events for him. I hope he finds answers, although I fear he won’t like them.

  7. ohh loving it- so much emotion

  8. Poor, poor Gideon. Well done, you!!!

  9. Oh my! I did NOT expect this twist to the story. Excellent job. Good use of the prompt.

  10. Poor Gideon, he’s being torn up in every direction. I hope he can get his revenge.

Leave a Reply

