Tuesday Tales – Curly

Badge for TT - very small

Hey there everyone!  I am back with Tuesday Tales!  (It’s been too long!). And…I am back with Gideon in my untitled Steampunk romance.  The last we were with Gideon, he had rescued Emma from the humidor.  (Need a refresher?  Click here!). What will happen when Emma wakes up?

Don’t forget to check out the other incredible excerpts from the other Tuesday Tales authors

The pumpkin orange glow of the late autumn sunset illuminated the thick glass pane of the window. It was soft yet still pierced Emma’s senses. She let go a soft groan as she stretched her stiff limbs.

Her mind raced to remember what had happened. The last she remembered she had been thrown in Gideon’s horrific humidor, the door sealing shut when she hit the floor. The thick fog of poison wrapped around her, choking her. She thought of him, of Gideon as she gasped her last breath. All she wanted to do was tell him how much she loved him. She never would.

But now, she was lying in the soft sanctuary of someone’s bed. Whose bed was she in? Had Katarina taken pity on her? Emma brushed a curly lock of hair from her face as she opened her eyes. Her gaze was met by the cold glare of Gideon’s.

“Gideon,” she breathed.

He shifted in the chair he sat until his elbows rested on his knees. He pressed his palms together for several moments. “You betrayed me. Your willingness to assist me, to be here with me, to want me was only a ploy to get me to finish that bloody contraption.”

Emma sat up, tugging the covers closer to her. “At first, yes. Katarina commanded me to do it. But the longer I was here, the more I was with you I wanted to be here.”

“Liar,” Gideon spat.

Emma drew her eyes to slits. She tossed off the blankets and stood on unsteady feet. She spun at him. “I don’t need to sit here and listen to you call me a liar. Yes, I lied. But I am not lying now. I was here because I wanted to be with you. I touched you, I kissed you because I wanted you deep in my core to the point I ached. No man has ever compared to you. But I don’t need your condemnation.”

She turned away from him to search for her gown. Just as she stooped to pick it up, a hand on her arm whipped her around. Her lips were engulfed in a scorching, sinfully delicious kiss. The only choice Emma had was to melt into it helplessly.

Click below to get back to the Tuesday Tales blog!

Badge for TT - very small

 

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on September 15, 2014, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. And we’ve been waiting for this kiss so long 🙂 Let’s hope she’s true this time!

  2. Ooooh, such a scorching kiss has to be laced with pain and betrayal. Can these two get over the betrayal?! Yikes, you have me holding my breath here!

  3. What a moment! Seems like we’ve been waiting and wanting that kiss forever! She better not be toying with him this time.

  4. Great description and juxtaposition of the anger of betrayal with passion. Nice ending to the snippet.

  5. I’m melting at the power of that kiss! So glad to be back in this story. I love how you’ve change her from bad girl to good. Hate to have to wait a week for me. Damn!

  6. I have to agree, that kiss almost distracted me from the rest of the snippet 🙂

  7. ahhhhhhhh, love that last paragraph. Divine!

  8. Thank you for returning to the stroy because I was so worried about Emma. Things are getting hot!

Leave a Reply

