What Makes Me Different

Boxer woman

When I’ve scan Amazon lately for my next book to read, I’ve noticed that one of the hot new trends is MMA or Fighter romances. I love it because I am a sucker for MMA and, incidentally, write MMA romance myself. But I’ve noticed a big difference in the books I’ve read and my own…the fighting excerpts themselves.

 

What could be the difference between those other books and my own? Very simple. It’s one thing to watch MMA fights and interview fighters. It’s a whole other thing to strap on gloves, slip a mouth guard into your mouth and face off with an opponent. Which I have. I am proud to tell anyone who asks that I am a mixed martial artist.

I never had the intention to be a fighter. If you told me two years ago that I would be doing this I would have laughed. My book, Breaking the Cycle, is actually what made me step into a gym in the first place. I wanted my character, Max, to quit a job he loved for one he was apprehensive to be part of. After a lot of thought, I decided to have him train MMA fighters.

To do my research, I e-mailed the owner/coach, Keoni Koch, of my local MMA gym, Hard Drive MMA, to see if I could ask him questions. He graciously agreed. I took a look at the gym’s website and saw they offered kickboxing classes. I always wanted to give it a try and figured one month wouldn’t hurt. It’s been sixteen months now. I not only take kickboxing classes but I have now been doing jiu jitsu for three months. I haven’t made it into the octagon…yet. But training six days a week I hope to make it soon.

What does this have to do with writing MMA romance? I know the terminology. I know the difference between a jab and a cross, the Gable grip and a rear naked choke. I know because I’ve done them (or have had them done on me). Knowing the intimate details of the sports makes the fight scenes believable. And what’s a MMA romance without fighting? And along with the fight scenes, the relationships between the fighters in the gym are a lot like the ones I have with my friends and teammates.

I am excited that I can take two things I love, MMA and writing, and blend them into one. And I hope my readers find reading my fight scenes just as exciting as watching a fight.

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on October 17, 2014, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

