Tuesday Tales Pic Prompt

IMG_0075.JPG
Hi everyone! It’s time for Tuesday Tales! This week is a picture prompt. We are with Gideon and Emma in our Steampunk Romance. To make the picture work I had to jump ahead in the story.
Don’t forget to check out the other incredible excerpts from the Tuesday Tales authors!

IMG_1486.JPG
Emma clung to the seat of the carriage for dear life. Gideon glanced over to her and chuckled. Her knuckles were literally white. “I thought you liked my creations,” he purred.
Her answer came through clenched teeth. “Your little creatures never tried to kill me. Just your humidor. And this.”
“My carriage won’t kill you, my love.”
Emma glared at him, her beautiful blue eyes icy. She didn’t look convinced.
It wasn’t long before London faded into the background. The brick buildings and mulling people were replaced by snow covered fields and cottages. The carriage puffed steam merrily as it chugged down the dirt road, the clouds drifting lazily from the vehicle.
A small white house nestled amongst tall, towering evergreens came into view. A barn with a wooden fence bordering it stood just feet away from it. Gideon maneuvered the carriage through the snow to the house. Stepping out into the drift, he offered his hand to Emma. “Let me take you inside and get you warm. I will come for our things shortly.”
“Who lives here?” Emma inquired.
“No one. I purchased it during my leave before Sophia’s death. I hoped to move my family here. When they died I never came back. Are you coming in?”
Emma slipped her hand into his then hopped out of the carriage. Gideon scooped her into his arms before her foot hit the cold, wet fluff below. She gaped at him astonished. He flashed her a wink as he unlocked the door with one hand and carried her inside.
Gideon gently set Emma on her feet inside the door then strode to the fireplace to start the fire. As the flames began to flicker around the dry logs, he turned to her. “It will be a while for the room to warm. I will get you a blanket.”
She crossed the room and took his hand in hers. “I have a better idea.”
“That is?”
“Where’s the bedroom? The warmth of your naked body will keep me warm.”
A sly smirk spread across his lips. Her mere suggestion set him on fire. “This way, my lady.”

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales!

IMG_0075-0.JPG

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on December 8, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a fine way to keep warm to me! 😉 Loved this snippet.

  2. Evocative and steamy at the same time. I’m with Vicki on this. Sounds like she has the right idea about how to keep warm. Well done!

  3. Nice! From chilly to haawwt in three words: “where’s the bedroom?”

  4. What beautiful scenery they drive through, and I love the contraption. Nice ending too.

  5. Hahaha … Straight to the point. Love it.

  6. I love Emma and Gideon’s story! Great scene and it goes so well with the prompt.

  7. Amazing what you can do with 300 words. You go, girl!

  8. I loved the description at the beginning of the snippet and as I kept going, I loved it more and then that last two lines- Awesome!

Leave a Reply

