Tuesday Tales – Dance

IMG_0075.JPG
Happy Tuesday! It’s time for Tuesday Tales! This week’s word prompt is “dance”. We are backing up in my Steampunk romance to where I left after the “stuffed” prompt. Let’s catch up with Gideon and Emma!

Don’t forget to check out the other awesome authors of Tuesday Tales!

Gideon gently closed the door to the townhouse softly. He laughed as he spun on his heel and descended the stairs. Snowflakes danced around his boots as he strolled along the brick covered street. He had risen early to make breakfast for his exhausted lover only to find the pantry bare. He slipped out to head to the shops for provisions.
His eyes caught two men mulling about the corner. He frowned as their cold, piercing eyes watched him walk by. He shook the paranoia from his mind. No one knew where Emma was. These gents were just passing the time.
The first stop was the butcher. The shopkeeper gasped at the sight of Gideon then greeted him with an endless barrage of words. Gideon chuckled to himself. Had he been out of sight that long. In mid sentence, the stout man paused. “What can I get for you, Miss?”
“I’m with him, sir.”
Gideon flew around, finding Emma behind him dressed in Sophia’s crimson cloak and pale yellow gown. He strode across the shop to her, bending low to keep the butcher from hearing them. “What are you doing here? Do you not remember me telling you that Katarina wants you dead?” he growled.
“You promised not to leave me there,” she pouted.
“You aren’t safe out here.”
Emma wrapped her arms around his. “I’m safe with you, Gideon. Besides, I snuck out the back door the moment you left and traveled through the alleyways. No one saw me.”
Gideon sighed. “All right. But keep the hood up. Understand?”
“Of course.”
Gideon tugged her close then ordered sausage and bacon. They stepped from the shop in the direction of the dairy. He glanced warily around the street. The two men were quickly approaching, each looking furious. Instinctively he pressed Emma against the storefront, blocking her from their sight.
“What are you doing?” she demanded.
He pressed a tender kiss to her forehead. “Trust me, my love.”

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales excerpts!

IMG_0075-0.JPG

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on December 15, 2014, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Now I wonder who those men are and what they want …..

  2. I agree with Iris. I too wonder who they are and what they want.

  3. The the suspense woven into the romance here. Gideon is a great hero and he and Emma make a wonderful couple. Now, let’s get rid of these bad guys approaching fast. Love this story.

  4. Ack! You have me caught in suspense as to what the men want. As always…can’t wait for more!

  5. I can see her in that crimson cloak and pale yellow gown– so vivid. I like how he’s protecting her with that gentle kiss!

Leave a Reply

