Tuesday Tales – New Year

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d51/29132166/files/2014/12/img_0075-02.jpg
Hey everyone! Happy Holidays and welcome to Tuesday Tales! I’m stepping away from my Steampunk tale to introduce a book I will be working on. I hope you enjoy!
**Warning…there is a bit of strong language.**

Don’t forget to check out the other awesome authors of Tuesday Tales!

For being such a fucking small town, it seems like it goes on forever.
Reese squinted against the blaring May afternoon sunshine as he stared down the main drag. Here he was. Home. Braden, Iowa. He jammed his hands in his jeans pockets as he glanced down at his bags on the ground. This was the last place he wanted to be.
Slowly rotating his shoulder back, he winced in pain. It was a subtle reminder of why he came home. The submission hold that screwed up his arm, that kicked him to the injured list, sent him here. When the new year began, he was partying it up on the Las Vegas strip drinking and sleeping with any woman that came his way.
Now, five months later, he was standing on the threshold of his hometown wounded and homeless. He hitchhiked his way out of this hellhole. Unfortunately, he hitchhiked his way back. With a defeated huff, Reese picked up his bags and slung them over his good shoulder. My life fucking sucks.

Trudging his way past the churches and stores, he stopped in front of the small bar. The front windows were nearly covered in obnoxious beer signs. He took a deep breath and pushed the door open, stepping into the cool darkness.
“Wow, look what the cat dragged in.”
Reese forced a smile on his face. “Hey, Buddy.”
Buddy scanned Reese from head to toe, brushing his shaggy blond hair from his face as he did. “Saw your last fight. Brutal, man. Thought you had him. You had his blood smeared all over the octagon. He got lucky wrenching your arm like that.”
“Yeah. Tell me about it.”
“What brings you here?”
“I’m out for the next few months. Rehab. I was hoping I could take you up on your offer.”
“What offer was that?”
Reese took a deep breath. “I need a place to crash while I heal. My roommate kicked me out so his girlfriend could move in.”
Buddy stared at him for a long, hard moment then grinned. “Mi casa es tu casa.”
Reese smiled. “Thanks. For all I know I won’t be there long. If the Sheriff finds out I’m here I’ll probably be thrown in the slammer for murdering my Dad.”

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales blogs!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d51/29132166/files/2014/12/img_00752.jpg

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on December 29, 2014, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Wow, what a great intro! I can`t wait to read more.

  2. Ooh, he’s in a helluva predicament. I look forward to seeing how he copes. Quite a zinger at the end too!

  3. WOW! What an ending sentence. Awesome!

  4. Talk about cliffhangers!!!! Geez! WTH?? I love the easy start to the story, leaving much to wonder about, then BLAM! You’ve sucked me in.

  5. Loved it! Artful weaving of backstory info into the tale. And then *kapow* with that last sentence. Great job.

  6. What a hook! Here I was feeling sorry for him, then you slam me with that.

Leave a Reply

