Tuesday Tales – Gray

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d51/29132166/files/2015/01/img_0075.jpg
Hey everyone! It’s time for Tuesday Tales! This week’s word prompt is “gray”. Since I left last week in sort of a cliffhanger, I’m back with my small town MMA romance The Fighter.
Don’t forget to check out the other awesome authors of Tuesday Tales!

Buddy cracked a grin at Reese. “I don’t think the Sheriff will bother you.”
Reese frowned at him. “Why not?”
“Your dad would have to be dead to arrest you for murder.”
“He’s not dead?”
“Nope. You beat him within an inch of his life. But no. Howard Cooper is alive and well and living in Braden.”
“Yeah, well I can still be arrested for assault.”
Buddy shook his head, his thick hair rustling as he did. “Your dad’s neighbor told the Sheriff your dad took the first swing. The first half dozen actually. You only fought back because you had to.”
Reese slumped onto a bar stool as he stared into space. He never had to run. But it would have been nice if the nosy old neighbor Daryl Cox would have shot his mouth off when his dad broke his arm when he was twelve. “So, who’s still around?”
“Pretty much the whole gang. You’re the only one who left.”
Reese paused for a moment. “Even Lily Dixon?”
Buddy cocked a curious eyebrow. “The preacher’s daughter?”
“Yeah.”
“She left Braden to go to the University then came home. She’s the town librarian.”
A smile slipped across Reese’s face. It was the first one since he stepped foot in this cursed town. “Huh. Good to know.”
Buddy wiped his hands on his gray T-shirt. “Did you want to get settled?”
“Sure.”
Buddy dug his hand into his pocket, retrieving his keys. He handed them to Reese. “Two-ten Pine. Two blocks that way.” He threw his thumb over his shoulder.
“I know where Pine is, Buddy. I was born here, remember.”
“It’s been awhile. You’ve taken a few shots to the head since. Go drop your stuff off and come back. First beer is on me.”
Reese stood then picked up his bags. “I appreciate it, man.”
“No worries.”
With a final forced smile Reese shuffled out into the spring sunshine.

Don’t forget to check out the other awesome Tuesday Tales blogs!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d51/29132166/files/2015/01/img_0075-0.jpg

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on January 5, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I like this quite a bit. There is some really nice realistic dialog here. Well done!

  2. Love the way the dialogue flows here. Great job!

  3. I am liking your story. Great job with the two guys. Can’t wait to see him go look up that librarian.

  4. sounds to me like he’s going to get a surprise when he sees the librarian- maybe she’s too sexy for words??

  5. I love the subtle, natural, flowing way you wove in the backstory through easy conversation. Great dialogue. I felt like a fly on the wall. I’m going to like this story. I’m already sucked in. Beautifully written.

  6. Nice resolution after leaving us hanging. I imagine a certain librarian will figure prominently in the story.

Leave a Reply

