Tuesday Tales – Ruthless

2015/01/img_00751.jpg
Hi everyone! Welcome to Tuesday Tales! This week’s word prompt is “ruthless”. We’re back this week with Gideon and Emma in my Steampunk romance.

Don’t forget to check out the other incredible authors of Tuesday Tales!

Gideon could tell something was wrong as he studied the front door of the townhouse. It was cracked open ever so slightly. He knew for certain he had closed and locked it. Emma had left through the back doors. He gently nudged Emma behind him. She clenched the items they had purchased to her as she peeked around his shoulder. “What is it?” she breathed.
“Stay behind me,” he ordered as he cautiously approached the building. Nudging the door open with the toe of his boot, he stepped inside.
Gideon’s breath caught in his throat. Everything in the place was in shambles. The sheets on the bed were slashed to shreds. Bookshelves were overturned, books and stacks of paper were lying everywhere. His workbench was lying on its side and his lone bottle of absinthe was shattered on the floor, the thick, emerald liquid in a puddle full of glass shards. He turned as he heard a sob.
Emma knelt on the floor, her small, delicate hands cupping the remains of Gideon’s brass spider. She pressed a careful kiss to the cold metal. Several of Gideon’s other brass creations scuttled around her knees, whirling a mournful sound at the loss of their friend.
“These men are ruthless,” she whimpered.
“These men knew you were here,” Gideon warned.
“I am sorry.”
“No apologies. But we need to go before they come back.” Gideon tugged her to her feet despite the creatures’ protest.
Emma glanced around her feet. “We cannot leave them.”
“Then box them up.” Gideon nodded to the parts in her hands. “That one too. But hurry. I will go and prepare our transportation. We need to hide until Edgar can bring us news.”

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales!

2015/01/img_0075-01.jpg

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on January 19, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. aww- this is terrible – I hate that the place got destroyed and hope they get the culprits. Jillian

  2. great description I could picture the upturned room

  3. It’s like a “neverending story” … Hope he can figure out soon who’s after him and why.

  4. Gosh darn it! I sure hope those bad guys get a sound whooping in the end.

  5. I like her feelings for the mechanical critters. Hopefully they will get to the bottom of who’s after them.

  6. How heartbreaking….but I adore how she reacting to the loss of the clockwork creature. Very endearing. I hope they manage to stay safe and take care of those that are after them.

  7. I love the little brass creatures. So happy to be back to this story again. They are a great couple. And, as usual, you’ve left me wanting more.

  8. Great description. Picture perfect!

  9. The tension builds ( cue dramatic music.) Always an enjoyable read.

  10. I love reading about Gideon & Emma. What a sad scene though. I felt as if I were in the shredded room with them. Love her gentle kiss on the brass spider.

Leave a Reply

