Tuesday Tales – Twenty

IMG_0075-0

Hey there! It’s time for another Tuesday Tales! This week’s word prompt is “twenty”. We’re back with Reese and Lily in The Heartbreaker.

Don’t forget to check out the other awesome authors of Tuesday Tales!

Reese rubbed the rag on the bar, scrubbing a little harder at the sticky ring left from the beer mug he had just taken back to the kitchen. He sighed as he stopped and looked around him. The dark green walls, the tables scattered across the grey cement floor, the thick scent of stale beer was only one thing to him now. Home.

It was the first time he was left in charge of the bar. Jenny was off for a few moments to get the pretzel rolls from the Triple B Bakery. Buddy was off meeting his lawyer friend in Waterloo about the future of the bar. A content smile crossed Reese’s lips. In a matter of weeks he would be the proud co-owner of Buddy’s Bar. He couldn’t wait to put pen to paper and make it official.

The glare of the summer sun preceded the sound of the door chime. Reese squinted to see the figure that stepped in. At first all he could make out was the long legs balanced in a pair of stiletto heels. The body they belonged to was clothed in a power suit with a skirt that ran a little too high to be professional. As the woman stepped out of the light Reese felt a growl rumble in his throat.

“Roxy,” he spat.

“What a surprise,” Roxy cooed as she tossed her blonde locks off her shoulder. “I just stopped in here to ask where I could find you and low and behold, here you are.”

“What do you want?” Reese demanded.

“I have exciting news. I have a fight for you.”

“Not interested.”

“How could you not be interested? You are the best fighter I’ve ever laid eyes on. You have been since I found you at the tender age of twenty.”

“Twenty-two. You found me at twenty-two. Do you have any idea how old I am now?”

“Baby, you’re a devastatingly sexy twenty-seven. Old enough to rock a woman’s world in the sack.”

“So you have no concept of time,” Reese snarled. “Again, I’m not interested. Braden is where I belong.”

“What could possibly be here that you don’t have in Las Vegas?”

“The woman I love.”

The news actually stunned Roxy off her feet. Her heels wobbled as she stumbled, clearly shocked by his words. She took a second to straighten herself then met him with a cold, hard glare. “Love? You’re in love?”

“Yes. I have been with her for long before I left Braden. Now I finally have her and I’m not letting her go. I’m going to buy into this bar that my best friend owns. I’m making my life here.”

“Well, baby, I have news for you. Did you forget something when you received your last purse and your last two sponsor checks? What was that? Oh, yes. My cut. Either you come back with me and take this fight or I will sue you for everything you have. I will own this bar, your friend’s bar. And I will plow it to the ground.”

Don’t forget to stop by the other Tuesday Tales blogs!

IMG_0075

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on May 11, 2015, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Oh, she’s a nasty little piece …. let’s hope he can get that sorted w/out having to give into her threat! Nice snippet!

  2. Oh, she is just being a first-class she dog! I hope he can get things settled.

  3. I’m feisty today. I’m gonna plow her to the ground if she doesn’t leave him alone! A number one bitch! Wow. I hope Reese won’t be rattled by her threat.

  4. Oh no–biotch! Great scene.

  5. She’s a wicked, wicked person. Please give her her comeuppance before this tale is done. 🙂 Jillian

Leave a Reply

