Tuesday Tales – Picture Prompt

IMG_0075-0

Hey there! It’s time for another Tuesday Tales! This week’s we write to a picture prompt. We’re back with Reese and Lily in The Heartbreaker.

Don’t forget to check out the other awesome authors of Tuesday Tales!

11238228_10205461898365686_2531796307751873399_n

Lily stared down at the plate of bacon and eggs Buddy sat in front of her. Her stomach lurched violently. The dry toast was the only thing that looked remotely inviting. She picked up a piece and nibbled on the corner.

Buddy stalked across the kitchen and slumped into his chair. He looked at her plate. “Eat.”

“I don’t feel well,” she mumbled.

He frowned. “I thought you were supposed to be through the morning sickness by now.”

“Guess I’m special.”

Buddy stabbed at his eggs with his fork puncturing the yolk. The wound seeped yellow, puddling around his bacon. He shoveled a bite into his mouth and chewed. Sighing, he set his fork by his plate. “Lily, I’m begging you. Don’t marry Connor. He doesn’t love you.”

“I don’t have a choice, Buddy. He’s right. I’m shunned by nearly every person in Braden. No other man in this stupid little town will have anything to do with me. Ever.”

“You always have a choice.”

“Like what?”

“Like me. Marry me.”

Lily set her toast on her plate. “I can’t marry you.”

“Why not?” Buddy demanded.

“Do you love me?”

“Of course I love you.”

“As a friend or as a lover?”

Buddy scowled at her silently. She took a deep breath and continued. “A lover is the reason someone breathes, the reason their heart beats. It’s someone they want to share their body, their bed, their life with. They are that person’s every thought, their very soul. Maybe I wasn’t that to Reese but he was that to me. And I love you enough to not tie you down to someone who you don’t feel that way about. Even if I’m carrying your best friend’s baby.”

“Ex-best friend,” Buddy growled.

 Don’t forget to check out the other awesome Tuesday Tales blogs!

IMG_0075-0

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on May 18, 2015, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. love the last part where she describes love. Well done! Jillian

  2. I agree with Jillian. Loved that description she gave of love!

  3. I want her to marry Buddy. Don’t give up, Buddy. Great story and superb dialogue.

  4. Love the paragraph where she shares what love is!

  5. Eggs can send you over the edge as far as morning sickness. Creative use of the prompt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

