Tuesday Tales – Boredom

IMG_0075-0

Hey there! Welcome back to Tuesday Tales! This week’s word prompt is “boredom”. We’re back with Reese and Lily in The Heartbreaker. 

Reese went back to Las Vegas to fight after his agent threatened to not only ruin him but those he loves. Lily is still in Braden but pregnant and about to marry a man she doesn’t love. Is there any hope for them? Let’s find out!

Don’t forget to check out the other amazing authors of Tuesday Tales!

Lily spun towards Reese, her lower lip dropping open in surprise by his sudden appearance.  He slowly approached her, taking her in his arms.  He smiled gently.  “I know about the baby.”

Lily frowned, her heart still twisted like a pretzel. “You said nothing. You just left.”

“I’m so sorry, baby. I tried calling you every day. I left countless messages. After a couple weeks I knew you were done with me. It killed me. I love you with everything I am. I didn’t want to leave but the threats Roxy gave scared me. I don’t care if she destroys me. I can’t let her hurt you and Buddy. It was twelve weeks of training, misery, heartbreak and boredom. I just wanted you at my side.”

“Reese, I’m sorry.  I should have told you about the baby. I didn’t think you wanted to be a father so…”

“Stop.  Just stop.  Do you remember that night when we made burgers at midnight?”

“Yes.”

“Do you remember asking me what was wrong?  Do you remember my answer?”

“You wanted something you couldn’t have.”

“Yeah.  I wrapped my arms around you to open the olives.  For a moment I let my mind wander.  We were still in the kitchen cooking but it wasn’t Buddy’s house.  It was our house.  We were cooking late not because we had sex.  It was because we had just gotten our baby to sleep.  What couldn’t I have?  You, baby.  All I ever wanted was you.  And all I wanted was to have a baby with you.  To start our family together.”  He paused.  “Then you didn’t you wait for me.”

“You know how fast rumors travel in Braden.  When the news of my pregnancy spread, I became a pariah.  People avoided me.  Not everyone.  The mayor wouldn’t let me quit my position at the library.  Connor convinced me that he was the only man who would ever want me.  I didn’t think you were coming back.  Your life here had to be far better.  Fighting is what you love.”

“No, baby.  You’re what I love.”

Lily smiled as she gazed into his blue eyes.  “I love you too.”

“I got a bunch of stuff planned for us but I have to get to my weigh in.  Roxy and my coach are probably flipping shit right now.”  He rubbed her arms before taking her hand gently in his.  Blinding pain seared through her arm.  She fought back her whimper but failed.

“Lily, what’s wrong?”

“Connor got a little excited when he got off the plane.  He squeezed my hand a little hard.”

Reese’s face darkened as he let go.  “Make a fist.”

She flexed her fingers to her palm, cringing as she did so.  Most of her digits complied.  A couple didn’t curl up completely.  She looked up as she heard Reese curse under his breath.  “Is it bad?”

“I knew I should have cold cocked that son of a bitch when I had a chance.  We need to get your hand looked at.  I think it’s broken.”

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales blogs!

IMG_0075-0

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on June 8, 2015, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Ouch! Apart from the last little bit … lovely scene!

  2. Another wonderful scene. I like the way they are opening up to each other. Poor thing on the broken hand. Jillian

  3. Wonderful excerpt! Sorry to read about the broken hand.

  4. I love the emotion in the scene and the way he imagined having a baby with her. Ouch– her poor hand.

  5. Ouch, a sweet, lovely scene and a broken hand. Yipes, I bet that hurt. Love Reese revealing how he feels.

  6. So glad everything is working out for them 🙂

  7. That scumbag Connor! Great scene with their sharing and honesty.

Leave a Reply

