Tuesday Tales – Bloom

  
Hey everyone! It’s time for Tuesday Tales. We are back with Sloan and Abbey in Family Ties, book six of the Black Irish series.

Don’t forget to check out the other incredible Tuesday Tales authors!  

Oliver dabbed the blood dripping from his chin as he scrambled to his feet, his eyes locked on the approaching Sloan. “Let’s go, guys.” The three men scampered across the playground disappearing between the grade school and the junior high buildings.Sloan towered over his crouching family. “Is everyone all right?”

“We’re fine.” Abbey let the girls go then accepted his hand to help her to her feet. “The motorbike was a bit much, don’t you think? How’d you blow it up like that?”

“I had a chunk of explosives in the trunk of my car. I taped it to the fuel tank.”

“Should I ask why you’re keeping explosives in you car?”

Sloan motioned to the charred van. “For moments like this. And no, this wasn’t excessive. These basta…” His words were cut of by an icy glare from Abbey. “These bad men were trying to hurt my girls. Nothing is excessive then.”

“How are we going to explain the explosion and the burned out van to the Dean of Students? I’m sure Dean Williams isn’t going to be thrilled with us.”

Sloan cocked her an evil grin. “I called Agent Dunham and cashed in one of the many favors he owes us for Afghanistan.”

“CIA intervention? Nice touch.” Abbey slipped her gun back into the holster around her thigh.

Ame could hear a growl slip from her father’s throat as his eyes fixed on her mother’s leg. His voice was deep and rough as he spoke. “Are you taking the girls back to class, lass?”

“We both could. Then we could both go talk to Dean Williams. I didn’t blow up a vehicle on her campus.”

“Yes, luv. But you did bring not one but two guns onto school grounds which is against the rules too. Besides, Agatha Williams hates me but she adores you.” Sloan rubbed his chin as he studied the building. “Just tell her the money to replace the couple dozen windows that were broken has already been deposited into the school’s account plus an additional million for any trouble.” He pointed to the dark sedans that prowled along the lane. Each car’s windows were tinted black. “I’m going to go deal with the CIA.”

“Sloan Michael O’Riley, don’t leave me with this!” Abbey demanded.

He winked at her before planting a kiss on her cheek. “You can handle this, luv. I know you can. You’re brilliant.” Sloan backpedaled away from her with a grin before spinning on his toe. He jogged away towards the men in suits now mulling around the wreckage.

Abbey muttered under her breath as she stowed her other gun in the waistband of her skirt then took Aubrey’s hand in hers. The little girl’s resolve broke. She began wailing loudly. “Mommy, no. I don’t want to go back. I’m scared.”

Abbey glanced down at her then at Ame. Ame hugged herself tightly to try to stop herself from shaking. It didn’t work. She felt tears sting her eyes. She never had been so confused in her life. Dad just blew up a van. There could have been someone inside. I think my dad just killed someone…

Abbey smiled at her gently. “Do you want to go home, Ame?”

A tear slid down her cheek as she nodded. Abbey wrapped an arm around her as a gentle smile bloomed across her face. “All right. Let me go talk to Dean Williams then get you both excused. We’ll go home.”

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales blogs!

  

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on July 27, 2015, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I can fully understand, the girls are scared and confused. Loved it, especially the hint of humour …

  2. Great scene. Love the off-hand way he deals with what he’s done, what they’ve done. Poor kid.

  3. Wonderful scene! I agree with Susanne about how he deals with what he has done.

  4. I like his protectiveness and his faith that she can take it from here. I like her versatility too.

  5. more!!!! Things haven’t sunk in for the girls completely

  6. Nice job of explaining the girl’s confusion,

  7. Love the whole thing. I knew it was going to great when I saw the picture of the gun. I love his protectiveness. Great characters. Jilian

Leave a Reply

