Tuesday Tales – Pen

  
Hey everyone! It’s time for Tuesday Tales. We are back with Sloan and Abbey in Family Ties, book six of the Black Irish series.

Don’t forget to check out the other incredible Tuesday Tales authors! 

 

Dark shadows stretched across Ame’s bedroom as she startled awake. This was ridiculous. Maybe a glass of warm milk would help. She frowned to herself. Did she know how to make warm milk? One thing was for certain. Both the milk and the source of heat to warm it were downstairs in the kitchen. Ame scooted out of bed and tiptoed down the hall. She froze when she heard her parents’ voices in the living room.

“She hates me,” Sloan moaned as he slumped into the leather sofa and buried his face in his hands.

“She does not,” Abbey assured.

He picked up Ame’s sketch pad and pens and tossed them into her lap. “Really? Don’t try to convince me that the image she drew isn’t me. She thinks I’m Satan.”

Ame’s heart sunk deep into her chest as guilt washed over her. Her father continued. “I never wanted her to know. She’s my little angel. She always has been. Now in her eyes I’m evil.”

“She’s fourteen. She’s a smart cookie. I think it’s time to tell her the truth.”

Sloan glared at Abbey. “Really? Are you prepared to tell Ame that we’re mercenaries?”

Abbey wrapped her arms tight around his waist. “Just let me handle it. All right?”

“Of course.”

“Has B found out anything more about those three men? Does any of this have to do with The Butcher?”

“All he found is that they have worked for him at one time. He doesn’t know if he was behind the attack or not. I have no idea why The Butcher would be after us. Yes, we were on the opposite sides of the war. But we never crossed paths.”

“We’ll figure this out, Sloan. We always do.”

“I won’t have you and our children in danger. You are my world. I will end the world to protect you.”

“And what about you? You are just as precious to me. I’m not about to let anything happen to you or our kids.”

Sloan turned to her and pressed his forehead against hers. Moments later his mouth dipped low to cover hers. Abbey melted into his kiss, pressing her body tight against him. Ame spun on her toe and raced back to her bed. Her mind was already a muddled mess over what happened at her school. She sure didn’t need to see her parents getting busy on the living room couch.

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales blogs!

  

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on August 3, 2015, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. LOL … liked the last sentence. I like the way we find out little by little about the parents. Great story so far.

  2. oooh, I love it. Mercenaries. COOL! Jillian

  3. Love it! And that last sentence was great!

  4. Great scene! I love it when he says he will end the world to protect her.

  5. Great snippet. I got so wrapped up in the story that I got to the end and thought ‘She didn’t use the word prompt’. I had to go back and look, and there it was, seamlessly in the story.

  6. Great teenage viewpoint. Parents getting busy–yuck!

Leave a Reply

