Tuesday Tales – Picture Prompt


Hey everyone! It’s time for Tuesday Tales. We are back with Sloan and Abbey in Family Ties, book six of the Black Irish series.

Don’t forget to check out the other incredible Tuesday Tales authors!  

Stepping outside of the school. Ame was stunned to find her father’s Hummer outside waiting for her. Sloan sat behind the steering wheel, his eyes focused on the tablet in his hand, a bouquet of roses and a box of chocolates sitting on the dash. Both teenage girls and mothers alike stopped to stare at him. Ame pushed past the slowly growing crowd. “Dad, what are you doing here?”

Sloan frowned, confused, at the females gathered behind her. A slow grin curved his lips. Obviously he doesn’t mind the attention. “Your mom was taking a nap. I thought I’d come instead. You know, since your little secret isn’t much of a secret anymore. Hurry up and get in. Your siblings are waiting.”

“Right.” Ame scuttled around the vehicle and jumped in the passenger side. Sloan slowly pulled from the curb and wound down the lane to the next building. “So, how was school?” he asked.

“Everyone knows I lied. So you can come to my events now.”

“Sorry, Angel.”

“It’s not your fault. I shouldn’t have lied. It’s just, if everyone knew I was your daughter, they would treat me like I was privileged because you’re rich.”

“Amelia, you need to be yourself. Money shouldn’t affect how you act. That’s what I’ve been trying to teach you.”

“I know. That’s what I sort of told the entire school.”

Sloan glanced at her from the corner of his eye. “Really?”

“Yeah. Someone filmed it and put it on YouTube. I think they thought I was going to throw a punch instead.” She pulled her cell from the pocket of her jacket and found the video. Then she handed the phone to him. Sloan parked the Hummer in front of the elementary school then pressed play. A proud smile filled his face. “That’s my lass.”

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales blogs!

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on August 9, 2015, in author, books, fiction, novel, romance, story, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. So heartwarming to see your child has learned to have standard, like you taught her. This is a wonderful piece. Didn’t think I could love Sloan more, but I do.

  2. love it!! AND Sloan gets better and better! Jillian

  3. My gosh, that Sloan just gets better and better!

  4. Good for her! WTG girl. She’s lucky to have such a father.

  5. great snippet. And I like sloan … and she’s such a great girl !

  6. Great snippet showing the relationship between the father and daughter.
    Loved how you casually had the flowers and chocolates in there on the front seat.
    Great job!

  7. He is a very awesome father.

Leave a Reply

