Tuesday Tales – Paint

  
Hey everyone! Welcome to Tuesday Tales! This week’s word prompt is “paint”. We’re back with Gideon and Emma in my Steampunk tale. 

Don’t forget to check out the other incredible incredible Tuesday Tales authors!

  

The ballroom fell hushed at the sight of Gideon, Emma and Edgar. Every head turned as a voice rang out over the crowd. “Gideon, my boy! And Edgar, too.”

General Hellwig parted the crowd as the crossed the ballroom to the trio. He threw his arms around Gideon in a bear hug. Gideon allowed his guard to drop for a moment. This man had been like a father to him while he served. As he pulled free from the embrace he glanced around. The crowd of merry markers had formed a circle around them. “It is good to see you, sir.”

“It is wonderful to see you. It’s been too long since you left that house. I was afraid you passed amongst your books and inventions.” The General turned to Edgar and shook his hand emphatically. “It is good to see you too, Edgar. You kept true to your word. You did get him out.”

Edgar grinned. “That I did, sir.”

General Hellwig turned to Emma nestled at Gideon’s side. “And you found yourself a lass. I hope this means you are done mourning Sophia.”

Gideon wrapped his hand around her’s. “That I have.”

The General took Emma’s free hand and pressed a kiss to the back of it. “Well, my lady, you are a blessing. I worried about him. I am glad to see him find new love.”

“Darling.”

The entire assembly turned to see Katarina sashaying through the crowd. The large, gaudy, scarlet gown brushed the floor with each step. Her face was painted with heavy powder making her complexion ghostly white. She stopped at her husband’s side and wrapped her hands around his bicep before she continued. “You remember my maid, Emma? Dearest child, I thought you were dead.”

Emma tightened her hold on Gideon’s hand as she curled closer. Katarina met Gideon’s glare. “Gideon.”

His heart raged as his eyes narrowed. “Katarina.”

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales blogs!

  

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on January 17, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Well how about that! Great excerpt. I can’t wait to see what comes next.

  2. There’s a lot of tension in that scene! Can’t wait to see what happens next.

  3. Nice!! Love the way you left it, except now I need to know what’s going to happen next. Great setting of the scene. Looking forward to more.

  4. oooh la la – I love it. Delicious!! Jillian

  5. Great scene! I love the way you amped up the tension and then left us hanging.

Leave a Reply

