Tuesday Tales – Wood

img_0075-3

Hey everyone! Welcome to Tuesday Tales! This week’s word prompt is “wood”. We’re back with Gideon and Emma in my Steampunk tale.

Don’t forget to check out the other incredible incredible Tuesday Tales authors!Steampunk Heart Love

Katarina’s smile was pure evil. “Are you here to see me give my gift to my husband?”

Gideon smirked back to her, an equal amount sin in his grin. “Of course. I built it, did I not?”

General Hellwig’s face lit up excitedly. “You did? Edgar has told me what a great inventor you’ve become. I cannot wait to see what this is.”

“Soon, my dear,” Katarina grumbled.

Gideon could see the apprehension flicker in her eyes. A growl escaped her throat as he offered his arm to Emma. “Come, my love. Let’s have a quick dance before Katarina reveals the General’s gift.”

“Of course, my sweet.” Emma intertwined her arm with his as he led her to the floor. The crowd broke into pairs as the musicians picked up their instruments from where they were left on the floor. A waltz was accompanied by the patter of footsteps gliding along the wood floor. He held her close as they swayed to the music. It wasn’t difficult to tell she was distracted.

“Emma, what is it?” Gideon coaxed.

She didn’t answer. Instead she pulled from his grasp then wrapped her arms around him. She dove her lips against his, taking the first chance she had to deepen it. He groaned as he held her tight against him.

He smiled at the end of the kiss. “What was that for?”

Emma glared away from him. He looked up to see the silent war waged between her and Katarina. The older woman was furious. He chuckled. “Emma.”

“I know she wants me dead. She needs to realize who you belong to. You are mine, not hers.”

“Is that so?”

Emma stared at her, the anger draining from her face. “Well…I thought…I did not realize…”

Gideon laughed as he pressed a gentle kiss to her lips. “I am glad we are on the same page. Yes, love. I am only yours. And you are only mine.”

“Everyone, it is time!” Katarina interrupted. “Please follow me into the study. Gideon, I believe you should have a front row seat to witness my husband’s fully functioning humidor.”

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales blogs!

img_0075-3

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on January 25, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Great snippet! I hope Gideon’s invention doesn’t malfunction and become some sort of violent robotic humidor that goes on a killing spree. It could happen. You never know with steam punk gizmos. =D

  2. Love the picture of the clock you added to the post. Steampunk gadgets are cool. Glad Emma and Gideon are on the same page, but I have a feeling Katarina won’t give up that easily. Looking forward to seeing what a fully functioning humidor looks like.

  3. Cute how he teases her.

  4. I love her possessiveness and her boldness in claiming him in front of the other woman. Seems he’s in agreement with me! Well done!

  5. I love this story. Great scene with emotions, tension and a hint of suspense. And then you leave us hanging at the end. Great job!

  6. Love it!! She is claiming her man openly and aggressively. I am sure there will be a reaction. Can’t wait!! Jillian

Leave a Reply

