Tuesday Tales – Mirror

  
Hey everyone! Welcome to Tuesday Tales! Things are getting exciting with Gideon and Emma. Let’s see what’s happening with my Steampunk couple.

Don’t forget to check out the other amazing tales from our amazing Tuesday Tales authors!

 
General Hellwig patted Gideon on the shoulder then stepped inside the humidor. Gideon closed the door behind him then stepped away. He glanced up into the giant gilded mirror over the fireplace. In its reflection he met Katarina’s stare. In her eyes he saw mixture of victory and trepidation. He cocked a grin at her then turned his attention back to the machine.

The humidor hummed to life, softly chugging away with the general inside. Gideon watched him carefully. Instead of gasping for breath like Emma did went she was trapped in there, General Hellwig chuckled. Then he roared with laughter. He nodded pleased as he turned around to take in every inch of his new gift.

The humidor quieted itself as the general stepped out. He wrapped Gideon in a bear hug. “My boy, I have never seen a finer humidor! And to think, it can be moved anywhere. By Hades, if I want a cigar while I’m at war, I could have it moved to the battlefield. Gideon, you are simply brilliant!”

“Thank you, sir,” Gideon responded. “I am glad you like it.”

“I love it.”

“Very good, sir.”

Gideon glanced back in the mirror, catching Katarina’s gaze again. He expected fury. He plan failed. Instead she smiled a wicked, sinfilled smile. He watched his own puzzled look. What had she done to bear such a sinister grin?

His heart seized in his chest as he spun around. The spot where Edgar and Emma once stood was now occupied by other guests. He frantically searched the crowd that swarmed him to congratulate him on a job well done and with inquiries on how much he would charge to build them one. Gideon froze in terror as he heard Katarina’s devilish cackle. Trapped in the library by the mass of guests, he watched her sashay out of the library and disappear.

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales!

 

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on March 21, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Great job. I’m assuming she used the distraction of the humidor to carry out a kidnapping. Can’t wait to see what happens next.

  2. Great excerpt! I thought the same as Susanne had.

  3. Flossie Benton Rogers

    Love that woman’s wicked, sinfilled smile but I hope he can counteract her sinister plot!

  4. Great scene. Being enclosed in the humidor, then not being able to leave the library had me ready to climb the walls.

  5. Oh NO! You keep throwing dilemmas in the midst, too. What has she done with Emma? I’m on the edge of my seat.

Leave a Reply

