Tuesday Tales – Push

  
Hey there and welcome to Tuesday Tales! This week’s word prompt is “push”. We are wrapping up my Steampunk Tale with Gideon and Emma. In the next few weeks I’ll be starting a new story.

Don’t forget to check out the other amazing Tuesday Tales authors! 
 Gideon took the staircase two steps at a time as he ascended to the library. As he reached the peak, he stopped. There was no telling what Katarina was capable of. He heard Emma scream. That meant she was still alive. His military training demanded that he assess the situation before charging forward.

What he saw stole his breath and sent his heart racing. Katarina clenched her hand around Emma’s neck, her talon-like fingernails buried into his lover’s flesh. Emma struggled the best she could against her hold, wincing and hissing in pain as she did so. Two of Katarina’s henchmen flanked each side of the large spiderweb window.

“You little bitch,” Katarina snapped. “Did you doubt my words? I told you he was mine. Who are you to attempt to usurp my claim?”

“Let me go!” Emma screamed. She whimpered as Katarina dug her fingers in deeper.

Katarina laughed as she nudged and pushed Emma closer to the window. “I will get what I want. I will have that strong, handsome soldier naked in my bed to do whatever I please. He will be dependent on me for his very life. His little contraption may not have killed my husband. But I am going to kill you. These men on either side of me,” she nodded to each of her henchmen, “they will plant the evidence to implicate Gideon for your murder. And then they will testify that he threw you through that window. Lover’s spat. How sad.”

She shoved Emma the last couple paces to the glass then reared back her arm. Gideon pushed off his back foot then sprinted up the last couple stairs and across the library. He tore Katarina’s grip from Emma’s throat and pushed her away from his lover. He gripped her arm and tossed her away. The sound of shattering glass filled the room.

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales blogs!

  

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on April 18, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. OMG How could you leave me here? Great post. Can’t wait to see what happened.

  2. Yippee! Katarina goes out the window!! Haha! I’m a meanie, I know, but she deserves it. Love the tension in this scene and the evil atmosphere.

  3. Egad! What a place to end things! I love it. =D

  4. I can’t believe you left us at this point. What an intense scene you created.

  5. Noooo … you cannot stop here! Can’t wait to read what happens next.

  6. Nice work drawing the nastiness of Katarina.

  7. Katarina is a great villain and Love that she got what was coming to her. Jillian

  8. I’m glad you came back to this story.

  9. Oh my! What a twist. I love Gideon’s story.

Leave a Reply

