Tuesday Tales – Hug


Hey there and welcome to Tuesday Tales! This week’s word prompt is “hug”. We are wrapping up my Steampunk Tale with Gideon and Emma. In the next few weeks I’ll be starting a new story.

Don’t forget to check out the other incredible Tuesday Tales!

Gideon shook his head violently. “No. They can hang me. I will not lose you. I love you.”

Emma hurried across the room to him and clasped his face in her hands. “I love you too, more than my own life. That is why you have to do this. If they capture you, if they execute you, it will destroy me.”

He pulled her into his arms and held her tight. She melted into his hug. She buried her face in his chest and whimpered. “Please, Gideon. Go. Save yourself.”

“Not without you.”

“You must.”

Gideon’s attention was torn away when he heard a rustle at the door. He let Emma go then strode to his workbench. He open a drawer and pulled out a pistol. He killed one person already that night. To protect his love, he would easily take another life.

The doorknob twisted. Gideon lifted the pistol to shoot the intruder. He breathed a sigh of relief as a bruised Edgar slipped inside.

“Good lord, man. Lower your weapon,” Edgar chided.

“I thought you were an intruder,” Gideon countered. “What is the word from the Helleig mansion?”

“Katarina’s men implicated you, Gideon. You need to go.”

“I told him to purchase a ticket to the New World,” Emma suggested quietly.

“And I told you I will not go without you,” Gideon replied.

“I agree with Emma.” Edgar glanced out the window. “There are men looking for you as we speak to arrest you. A dirigible leaves tonight. Get there before the word reaches the pilot and he detains you.”

“Never,” Gideon.

“Stop being a fool, Gideon. Put your pride aside. I will take care of Emma. No harm will come to her. Go.”

Gideon looked from Edgar to Emma. He swallowed hard. It felt like a cold stone lodged in his throat. Finally he choked out his answer. “Fine. I will get the money.”

“Emma and I will see you off. Hurry. You haven’t much time.”

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales!


About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on May 9, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Excellent tease. Nice way to leave us wondering if he’ll make it out safely. Well done.

  2. Their separation is heartbreaking!

  3. Nice cliff hanger. I’m hoping he can get away unharmed.

  4. You’re leaving us hanging, you naughty girl! Great snippet about two people we’ve come to adore.

  5. Oh my gosh, such an ending!

  6. Flossie Benton Rogers

    Oh my gosh! I hope he gets out but with her too.

  7. love the picture you painted of how hard it was for him to swallow. I could feel that stone with him. Jillian

Leave a comment