Tuesday Tales – Purple


Hey everyone! It’s time for Tuesday Tales! This week’s word prompt is “purple”. This is the second to last installment of Gideon and Emma. Soon I’ll be starting the first book of my Fighter Girlz series.

Don’t forget to check out the other amazing authors of Tuesday Tales!!


Six months later…

The small shop was bathed in the amber glow of the oil lamps. Outside the crickets chirped merrily. Gideon slipped the leather apron over his neck and tied it behind his back. It was nearly midnight. It was time to get to work.

He had nothing but luck since he stepped off the dirigible into the New World. He was able to find a room the first night. The second night he found the innkeeper’s wife struggling with a contraption. Gideon offered to take a look at it. The frustrated woman all but slammed it into his chest. A couple turns of the screws and a drop or two of oil later it hummed back to life. Gideon wasn’t sure what it was but it was fixed. He returned it to the overjoyed lady of the house.

Word spread like wildfire of Gideon’s tinkering skills. In five short months he was able to purchase his shop and the adjoining cottage. People from far and wide brought him things at all hours of the day. It was all right. He couldn’t sleep. Every time he dozed he dreamt of Emma. The heartache was too much to bear. At least when he was working he could preoccupy his mind with thoughts other than her.

The thinking of the bell over the door pulled him from his project. A woman in a deep purple gown breezed in, clutching something to her breast. A large brimmed hat hid her face. By the swell of her belly it was simple to tell she was pregnant.

“May I help you, miss?” Gideon offered.

“I hope so. The love of my life left me this but it does not work.”

Gideon’s breath caught in his throat at the sound of the voice. His heart hammered in his chest as he looked down at the white and brass rose that lay on the counter. Then he looked up into Emma’s blue eyes.

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales excerpts!!



About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on May 23, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Flossie Benton Rogers

    Oh, how I love this ending! It’s wonderful. I also like how he can tinker things to work without even knowing what they are. He’s got the knack.

  2. Gideon seems to be the perfect fix it man. I’m wondering how he is going to fix the woman in distress holding the white and brass rose.

  3. I’m with Flossie. I love that ending!

  4. Oh my!! How beautiful. The end just caught my heart. Wonderful!

  5. This needed a love button. Love, love this! So happy! Jillian

Leave a Reply

