Tuesday Tales – Gray

Hey everyone! Welcome to Tuesday Tales! This week’s word prompt is “gray”.  We’re back with Dani and Fitz in the first book of the Fighter Girlz series, Ememy Linez.

Don’t forget to check out the other incredible Tuesday Tales!


Dani shrugged as she picked up a menu. “There’s not much to tell. I’m the only girl in my family. I have four brothers. I always inadvertently got caught up in their wrestling matches. My mom signed me up for Tae Kwon Do so I could protect myself. I fell in love with martial arts and the rest is history.”

“So now I know Dani the fighter. What about Dani the woman?”

She stared at Fitz baffled. No man ever wanted to know her. They lusted after the woman in the cage. She never understood what turned them on about that. She smirked at him. “Oh, this is the ‘I like long walks on the beach’ portion of our conversation, huh?”

He laughed. “Sure. Let’s call it that.”

Dani set the menu on the table. She traced her finger along the gray rooster that adorned it. “I love to read. Romance, mystery, horror. Doesn’t matter. I have a bachelor’s degree in library science, but when I moved to the city I couldn’t find a job. I’m an assistant at a law firm for now.”

“Fascinating.” Fitz caressed her hand still held in his.

Dani shuddered as she met his gaze. She really needed to demand that he take her home. She wasn’t sure how much more she could take. She had never wanted a man so bad in her life. “Hardly.”

“It is. You’re not only devastating sexy and tough as hell, you’re brilliant. Might be the perfect combination.”

“Fitz, you are seriously full of it.”

“I am. But that time you didn’t tell me there was no chance I’d end up in your bed. I’m breaking you down, huh?”

“I…”

Her attention was suddenly pulled away by the blonde waitress standing beside their table. “Fitz, it’s good to see you.” The woman sneered at Dani. “Can I get you and your friend something to drink?”

“Hey, Annie. I’ll have a root beer. Dani?”

Dani smiled at the waitress. “Water, please.”

Annie huffed away towards the kitchen. Dani watched her go before turning to Fitz. “Ex girlfriend?”

“How could you tell?”

“The fact she was ready to tear off my face. Do you bring a lot of girls here to piss her off?”

Fitz’s smile set her heart racing. “Nope. You’re the first I’ve brought here. And for the record, I don’t give a shit what she thinks. I only care about the opinion of one woman tonight and she’s sitting across the table from her with her hand in mine.”

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales!

About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on August 14, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great scene. Love the natural dialogue and the sarcasm. Brilliant.

  2. Be still my heart!!! What a sexy guy. A real keeper, too, I’d say. Love this scene.

Leave a Reply

