Tuesday Tales – Catch

Hey everyone! Welcome to Tuesday Tales! This weekend we’re back with Dani and Fitz in the first book of the Fighter Girlz series, Ememy Linez.

Don’t forget to check out the other incredible Tuesday Tales!

It seemed like the entire town was nestled inside. The noise of chatter and clanging dishes was almost music. A waitress motioned to the only available table. Dani reached for her chair only to find it pulled away from the table. Fitz motioned her to sit as he gripped onto it with his other hand. “I can be a gentleman.”

“Right. I suppose you’re going to order for me to?” she quipped.

“Only if you take too long.”

Dani shook her head with a laugh as she sat down. Fitz settled in his chair, scooped up a menu and handed it to her.

She looked at him puzzled. “Don’t you need one?”

“Nope. Double cheeseburger and fries. Like I get every time I come here.”

“Don’t you have a fight coming up in a few weeks?”

“Are you my coach?”

“I could do a better job.”

Fitz reach across the table and took the free hand not holding the menu. “Let’s not do this. I don’t want to talk about Duos or Diamondhead. Just us. Okay?” He pointed to the corner over his shoulder. “See that old guy in the white polo shirt with the lady in the purple flower dress? He taught me how to catch a baseball.”

“Didn’t your dad do that?” Dani questioned.

“My dad did nothing but run the farm. He didn’t have time or patience to teach me. So Mr. White did. He was my teeball coach. He was there when our varsity won state.”

“That’s pretty cool.”

“What about you? Tell me about yourself. There has to be a story behind that beautiful face.”

Dani felt her face flush hot. She swore she heard a growl across the table. She looked up to see the hungry look in Fitz’s eye. “What?”

“Don’t do that.”

“Don’t do what?”

“Blush like that. It makes you look cute. It makes me want to corrupt something that cute.”

A hot rush of desire blaze through her. “Don’t count on it, bucko.”

“You say that. But your body is telling me something different. Tell me I’m wrong.”

“Fitz…”

Fitz cracked a grin. Dani didn’t have to ask why. She didn’t say he was wrong. The squeak in her voice actually admitted he was right. He lifted her hand to his lips and kissed it. “So, you were telling me what you were like as a kid.”
Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales!


About triciaandersen

I am the author and illustrator of the children's book "The Peculiar Princess". I am also the author of two adult fantasy romance novels, "The Sorceress of Savon" and "The Woodcutter King of Muladin". Along with being an author I am married to a wonderful guy and have three beautiful children. I coach youth track and field, sew and chase my children around to their various activities.

Posted on August 7, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

Leave a comment